the republic logo

Latest bronze Trail of Governors statues unveiled at Capitol rotunda for 125th anniversary


PIERRE, South Dakota — South Dakota has unveiled three more bronze statues of its former governors.

KCCR-AM reports that former Governors George S. Mickelson, Peter Norbeck and Robert S. Vessey are the newest additions to the state's Trail of Governors series. The sculptures were unveiled Saturday in the Capitol rotunda.

The unveiling is part of the day-long celebration of South Dakota's 125th anniversary of statehood.

The newest additions mean Pierre now has statues of nine former Governors.

The statues are scheduled to be placed in their permanent positions around the city when the ceremony concludes.

Each statue in the series costs $68,000. Trail of Governors Foundation Board President Rick Jensen says most, if not all, of the funding for the next three has already been raised.

Information from: KCCR-AM,

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

Story copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Feedback, Corrections and Other Requests: AP welcomes feedback and comments from readers. Send an email to and it will be forwarded to the appropriate editor or reporter.

We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)


Follow The Republic:

All content copyright ©2014 The Republic, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.