the republic logo

SEC coaches honor Kentucky's John Calipari, Arkansas' Bobby Portis with top league awards


BIRMINGHAM, Alabama — Southeastern Conference coaches named Arkansas' Bobby Portis player of the year and awarded coaching honors to Kentucky's John Calipari.

The top-ranked Wildcats received several other awards from the league coaches on Tuesday. Willie Cauley-Stein was named defensive player of the year, Karl-Anthony Towns as the top freshman and Devin Booker as the best sixth man.

Alabama's Levi Randolph, a graduate student with a 3.75 GPA, is the SEC Scholar Athlete of the Year.

Portis is averaging 17.8 points, 8.7 rebounds and 1.5 blocks. He's the first Razorbacks player to win the award since Corliss Williamson in 1994 and 1995.

Calipari has led Kentucky to a 31-0 record, the SEC's longest winning streak.

Towns is averaging 9.7 points and a team-high 6.6 rebounds.

Booker scores 10.9 points off the bench.

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

Story copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Feedback, Corrections and Other Requests: AP welcomes feedback and comments from readers. Send an email to and it will be forwarded to the appropriate editor or reporter.

We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)


Follow The Republic:

All content copyright ©2015 The Republic, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.