the republic logo

Already-crowned champion Olympiakos ends season with 1-1 draw at Platanias


ATHENS, Greece — Olympiakos was officially crowned Greek league champion for the 42nd time, and 17th in the past 19 seasons, after a 1-1 draw at Platanias in the final round of the season.

An own goal by Tassos Avlonitis gave Platanias the lead in the 17th minute and Franco Jara equalized in the 87th.

Olympiakos ended the season 12 points ahead of Panathinaikos, which beat Giannena 3-1 to overtake PAOK for second place. PAOK drew 0-0 at Panionios.

Panathinaikos, PAOK, fourth-place Asteras and fifth Atromitos will enter a home-and-away playoffs, with the winner clinching a berth in next season's Champions League alongside Olympiakos.

Levadiakos became the fourth relegated team alongside Ergotelis, OFI and Niki, the last two already been expelled due to financial troubles.

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

Story copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Feedback, Corrections and Other Requests: AP welcomes feedback and comments from readers. Send an email to and it will be forwarded to the appropriate editor or reporter.

We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)





Follow The Republic:

All content copyright ©2015 The Republic, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.