the republic logo

Wisconsin Assembly members take oath of office for 2015-17 session


MADISON, Wisconsin — The Wisconsin Assembly's 99 members are taking the oath of office for the 2015-17 legislative session.

Wisconsin Supreme Court Justice David Prosser swore in the members en masse on Monday afternoon. The representatives, wearing boutonnieres, then took turns signing the oath of office book. The book has been used on every inauguration day since 1877.

Prosser swore in Republican Rep. Robin Vos individually as Assembly speaker to a standing ovation. Vos served as speaker during the last session as well. He delivered a speech calling on representatives to shrink government by consolidating agencies and curb spending.

Republicans control the chamber 63-36. They control the Senate 18-14 and Scott Walker holds the governor's office, giving the GOP complete control of state government for a third straight session.

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

Story copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Feedback, Corrections and Other Requests: AP welcomes feedback and comments from readers. Send an email to and it will be forwarded to the appropriate editor or reporter.

We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)


Follow The Republic:

All content copyright ©2015 The Republic, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.