the republic logo

Latest South Dakota Trail of Governors statues to be unveiled at Capitol rotunda in Pierre


PIERRE, South Dakota — South Dakota is unveiling three more bronze statues of its former governors.

KCCR-AM reports that statues of former Governors George T. Mickelson, Charles Herried, and Richard Kneip will be revealed Friday afternoon in the Capitol rotunda.

The statues are the newest additions to the state's Trail of Governors series. The statues are scheduled to be placed in their permanent positions around the city when the ceremony concludes.

The newest additions mean Pierre now has statues of a dozen former Governors.

This story has been corrected to show the name of the governor honored with a statue on Friday is George T. Mickelson, not George S. Mickelson. George S. Mickelson's statue was unveiled last year.

Information from: KCCR-AM,

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

Story copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Feedback, Corrections and Other Requests: AP welcomes feedback and comments from readers. Send an email to and it will be forwarded to the appropriate editor or reporter.

We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)


Follow The Republic:

All content copyright ©2015 The Republic, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.