the republic logo

Ohio State's Tom Herman wins Broyles Award, given to top assistant coach


LITTLE ROCK, Arkansas — Tom Herman of Ohio State, which lost two starting quarterbacks to season-ending injuries this year yet still made the College Football Playoff, is the winner of the Broyles Award given to the top assistant coach in college football.

The Broyles Award is named after former Arkansas athletic director and football coach Frank Broyles, who had a number of assistants go on to successful careers in college and professional football.

The Buckeyes went 12-1 this season and beat Wisconsin 59-0 in the Big Ten championship game despite using its third starter of the year.

The award was presented Tuesday by the Rotary Club of Little Rock and Delta Dental.

Other finalists for the award were Oregon's Scott Frost, Lane Kiffin of Alabama, TCU's Doug Meacham and Missouri's Dave Steckel.

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

Story copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Feedback, Corrections and Other Requests: AP welcomes feedback and comments from readers. Send an email to and it will be forwarded to the appropriate editor or reporter.

We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)


Follow The Republic:

All content copyright ©2014 The Republic, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.