the republic logo

Oregon Gov. Kate Brown declares drought emergencies in 4 more counties


PORTLAND, Oregon — Drought emergencies have now been declared in more than half of Oregon's 36 counties.

Gov. Kate Brown on Friday confirmed emergencies in Coos, Douglas, Gilliam and Jefferson counties. That makes 19 counties officially in a state of drought.

Such declarations allow the state to prioritize use of water for human consumption and livestock, and enable residents hurt by drought to get federal aid. State agencies are using the hashtag #ORdrought across social media to keep people informed about drought-related developments.

With conditions so dry, Brown also warned that Oregon is likely to face a severe wildfire season. She says Oregonians must rise to the challenge that a changing climate brings.

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

Story copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Feedback, Corrections and Other Requests: AP welcomes feedback and comments from readers. Send an email to and it will be forwarded to the appropriate editor or reporter.

We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)




Follow The Republic:

All content copyright ©2015 The Republic, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.