the republic logo

Henry, McCaffrey, Watson up for Maxwell Award; finalists revealed for 9 major awards


Alabama running back , Stanford running back and Clemson quarterback are the finalists for the Maxwell Award, given to the nation's best player.

Finalists for nine awards that will be handed out Dec. 10 during ESPN's college football award show were announced Tuesday.

The finalists for the Award for best defensive player are Temple linebacker , Penn State defensive end and Alabama linebacker .

The Doak Walker Award finalists for best running back are Henry, McCaffrey and LSU's .

Finalists for the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award are Watson, TCU's and Oklahoma's .

The Outland Trophy for outstanding lineman finalists are Baylor tackle , Stanford guard and Alabama defensive tackle .

Other finalists:

Biletnikoff Award (outstanding receiver) — Corey Coleman, Baylor; , TCU; Laquon Treadwell, Mississippi.

Lou Groza Award (outstanding kicker) — , Auburn; , Memphis; , UCLA

Ray Guy Award (punter of the year) — , San Jose State; , Utah; , Colorado State.

Jim Thorpe Award (best defensive back) — Jeremy Cash, Duke; , Florida; , Iowa.

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

Story copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Feedback, Corrections and Other Requests: AP welcomes feedback and comments from readers. Send an email to and it will be forwarded to the appropriate editor or reporter.

All content copyright ©2015 The Republic, a publication of AIM Media Indiana unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.