the republic logo

Final results of Navajo presidential election show winner gained nearly 63 percent of vote


WINDOW ROCK, Arizona — Final results from the Navajo Nation presidential election show Russell Begaye winning nearly 63 percent of the vote to defeat Joe Shirley Jr.

Begaye had 25,902 votes to Shirley's 15,245 in the April 21 contest. About one-third of Navajos registered to vote in the special election cast a ballot for president.

The results are slightly different from election night and reflect counts from provisional ballots. Shirley's campaign also had requested a manual recount of 10 precincts to check the voting systems.

Begaye and Vice President Jonathan Nez will be sworn in Tuesday. They succeed Ben Shelly and Rex Lee Jim, who served an extended term while officials sorted out the chaos that arose when one candidate was challenged on his ability to speak fluent Navajo as required by tribal law.

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

Story copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Feedback, Corrections and Other Requests: AP welcomes feedback and comments from readers. Send an email to and it will be forwarded to the appropriate editor or reporter.

We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)


Follow The Republic:

All content copyright ©2015 The Republic, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.