the republic logo

Norway's Marit Bjoergen & Haagen Krogh win World Cup cross-country sprint season titles


DRAMMEN, Norway — World champion Marit Bjoergen has won a record-tying fifth overall World Cup cross-country sprint title and Finn Haagen Krogh his first on Wednesday.

Bjoergen finished third in the classic sprint season finale, holding off closest rival and Norwegian teammate Ingvild Flugstad Oestberg, who was fourth.

Olympic champion Maiken Caspersen Falla won the race to finish third overall. Norway became the first country to take all three podium places in the women's overall since the competition started in 1996.

Bjoergen won the overall for the first time in nine years, equaling countrywoman Bente Skari's record five wins.

On the men's side Krogh was second to Norwegian teammate and rival Eirik Brandsdal, enough to win his first overall sprint title.

It was Brandsdal's third sprint win of the season.

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

Story copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Feedback, Corrections and Other Requests: AP welcomes feedback and comments from readers. Send an email to and it will be forwarded to the appropriate editor or reporter.

We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)


Follow The Republic:

All content copyright ©2015 The Republic, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.