the republic logo

Rhode Island General Assembly session to open Tuesday with oaths of office


PROVIDENCE, Rhode Island — The 113 members of the Rhode Island General Assembly are being sworn in this week as the 2015-2016 session opens.

Tuesday's ceremonies are scheduled to begin at 4 p.m.

All 75 members of the House of Representatives and 38 members of the Senate will take the oath of office. Secretary of State Nellie Gorbea (gor-BAY'-uh) will administer the oaths during separate ceremonies. She is being sworn in earlier Tuesday.

Fifteen newly elected representatives and three newly elected senators will be sworn in.

The members are expected to re-elect Rep. Nicholas Mattiello of Cranston as House speaker, and Sen. Teresa Paiva Weed of Newport as Senate president. They are each scheduled to address their chambers.

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

Story copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Feedback, Corrections and Other Requests: AP welcomes feedback and comments from readers. Send an email to and it will be forwarded to the appropriate editor or reporter.

We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)


Follow The Republic:

All content copyright ©2015 The Republic, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.