the republic logo

Oklahoma's Mayfield, Penn State's Nassib, Washington State's Falk are Burlsworth finalists


FAYETTEVILLE, Arkansas — Oklahoma quarterback , Penn State defensive end and Washington State quarterback are the three finalists for the Burlsworth Award that's given annually to the top college football player who began his career as a walk-on.

The award is named for former Arkansas Razorback offensive lineman Brandon Burlsworth and will be presented on Dec. 7.

Mayfield leads the Big 12 Conference in passing touchdowns with 33 this season, and he's first national in passing efficiency, while Nassib leads the country with 15.5 sacks — including at least one in every game this season.

Falk leads the country in passing yards per game with 387.8, and he's thrown 36 touchdowns and only eight interceptions.

East Carolina's Justin Hardy won the award last year.

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

Story copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Feedback, Corrections and Other Requests: AP welcomes feedback and comments from readers. Send an email to and it will be forwarded to the appropriate editor or reporter.

We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)


Follow The Republic:

All content copyright ©2015 The Republic, a publication of AIM Media Indiana unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.