the republic logo

Federal agency: 7 northern Lower Peninsula counties free of fatal disease bovine tuberculosis


LANSING, Michigan — Federal officials have tentatively declared seven more northern Lower Peninsula counties free of bovine tuberculosis, a disease that can be fatal for livestock and wildlife.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture announced the move Wednesday for Antrim, Charlevoix, Cheboygan, Crawford, Emmet, Otsego and Presque Isle counties.

Michigan can adopt the changes immediately, although they won't become official until after a public comment period.

The Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development has scheduled hearings Sept. 25 in Wolverine and Atlanta on whether to revise zoning rules to reflect the status change.

With the change, only northern Michigan's Alcona, Alpena, Montmorency, and Oscoda counties will remain without bovine TB-free status. Michigan has been battling the disease for 19 years.



Bovine TB background:

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

Story copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Feedback, Corrections and Other Requests: AP welcomes feedback and comments from readers. Send an email to and it will be forwarded to the appropriate editor or reporter.

We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)


Follow The Republic:

All content copyright ©2014 The Republic, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.