the republic logo

First day of classes for 6 new suburban school districts in Shelby County


MEMPHIS, Tennessee — It's the first day of classes for new public school systems in six Memphis suburbs.

Classes began Monday in Arlington, Bartlett, Collierville, Germantown, Lakeland and Millington.

After a federal court battle and the creation of a state law that cleared the way for the new school districts, suburban residents voted to start their own individual school systems in July 2013. They were seeking to avoid the consolidation of Memphis City Schools and the county's school system. The merged system existed for only the 2013-2014 school year.

The new systems give Shelby County eight school districts. Along with the six suburbs, classes also began Monday for Shelby County Schools, which covers the city of Memphis and areas outside the suburbs, and the Achievement School District.

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

All comments are moderated before posting. Your email address must be verified with Disqus in order for your comment to appear.
View our commenting guidelines and FAQ's here.

Story copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Feedback, Corrections and Other Requests: AP welcomes feedback and comments from readers. Send an email to and it will be forwarded to the appropriate editor or reporter.

We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)


Follow The Republic:

All content copyright ©2014 The Republic, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.