the republic logo

NYSAPA announces top 2014 awards


SARATOGA SPRINGS, New York — Newspapers in Geneva, Glens Falls, Syracuse and Rochester were honored Saturday as Newspapers of Distinction by the New York State Associated Press Association. Also announced at the NYSAPA Annual Meeting in Saratoga Springs were winners of other top categories, including the Young Journalist of the Year.

The Finger Lakes Times, Post-Star of Glens Falls, Syracuse Post-Standard and Rochester Democrat and Chronicle were judged the best newspapers in their respective circulation categories. The entire news product, print and digital, was judged in this competition.

The association also honored former New York Associated Press Chief of Bureau Howard Goldberg for his contributions to journalism in the state.

The NYSAPA is one of the oldest and most competitive journalistic competitions for daily newspapers in the state. Out-of-state journalists are the judges.

Others honored by the NYSAPA are:


Julie McMahon of the Syracuse Post-Standard won the award named for the former Associated Press news editor in Albany and given to a journalist with up to three years' experience.


The first place Bernard J. Kolenberg Awards for spot news photography went to Simon Wheeler of the Ithaca Journal for images of a car carrier that crashed into a local restaurant and the New York Daily News for Ramsey Orta's amateur cellphone image of Eric Garner's arrest. The second-place winners were Bill Lyons of the Staten Island Advance and Ellen Blalock of the Syracuse Post-Standard. The third place winners were Gabe Dickens of the Plattsburgh Press-Republican and Theordore Parisienne of the New York Daily News. The award is named for an Albany Times-Union photographer killed in a plane crash in Vietnam while he was covering the war for The Associated Press.


Derek Gee of the The Buffalo News won the Bruce Cromie Award for contributing the best of the state AP's "Photo of the Month" award winners. His photograph showed a man digging out from 5 feet of snow during November's storm. The award is named for an Albany photographer killed in an auto accident while on assignment for a member newspaper.


Jonathan Lemire, who covers New York City Hall, was named AP Staffer of the Year.

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

Story copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Feedback, Corrections and Other Requests: AP welcomes feedback and comments from readers. Send an email to and it will be forwarded to the appropriate editor or reporter.

We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)


Follow The Republic:

All content copyright ©2015 The Republic, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.