the republic logo

Texas Newspaper Foundation Hall of Fame to induct 4 in January


AUSTIN, Texas — A Pulitzer Prize winner, a longtime columnist and the principals in the Harte-Hanks newspaper partnership will be inducted into the Texas Newspaper Foundation Hall of Fame.

An induction ceremony will be held Jan. 23 during the Texas Press Association 2015 Midwinter Conference and Trade Show at Moody Gardens Hotel in Galveston.

The 2015 honorees include Ken Towery, a reporter and managing editor of the Cuero Daily Record who received the Pulitzer Prize for Local Reporting in 1955 for his series exposing the Texas Veterans Land Board scandal; Leon Hale, a longtime feature columnist for the Houston Chronicle; and Houston Harte and Bernard Hanks, who formed a partnership that eventually included 19 daily newspapers and several non-daily newspapers with a combined circulation of more than 600,000 in six states.

The Austin-based foundation created the hall of fame in 2006 and each year honors up to four people for outstanding contributions to the newspaper industry and to their communities.

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

Story copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Feedback, Corrections and Other Requests: AP welcomes feedback and comments from readers. Send an email to and it will be forwarded to the appropriate editor or reporter.

We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)


Follow The Republic:

All content copyright ©2014 The Republic, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.