Recycling options abound in county

Bartholomew County has four permanent recycling locations — the Recycling Center, landfill and our convenience locations at Harrison Township and Petersville — and one mobile route.

Our main recycling location is our drive-thru Recycling Center at 720 S. Mapleton St., Columbus. It is open six days a week from 8 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Monday, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday, and 7:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Tuesday and Thursday. Businesses can bring their recycling from 7:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Mondays or by calling ahead of time.

We also accept household hazardous wastes such as oil-based paint, CFL bulbs and motor oil during our Tox-A-Way program from 7:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. every Wednesday. Electronics recycling occurs six days a week during operating hours, including items such as computers and televisions.

Another permanent location is our landfill, 811 E. County Road 450S in Columbus, which also is open six days a week. The hours are 7:30 am to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday and 7:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday.

Many residents are not aware of our permanent Saturday rural convenience sites in Petersville and Harrison Township. These sites are open 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. every Saturday. The address for our Harrison Township site is 10293 Old Nashville Road in Columbus, and our Petersville site is at 11110 25th St. in Columbus.

We also have a mobile recycling route from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. Saturdays. You can find the mobile recycling trailer at Kroger at National Road and Central Avenue on the first and third Saturday of each month. The second and fourth Saturday of each month the mobile recycling trailer will be at the Hope Utility Garage, 529 Mill St. in Hope.

If you need more information or have any questions, please feel free to call our office or check out our website at