Stewart’s SRX series to kick off Saturday

Team owner Tony Stewart takes questions during a NASCAR Cup Series auto race press conference Friday, Nov. 15, 2019, at Homestead-Miami Speedway in Homestead, Fla. (AP Photo/Terry Renna) Terry Renna

Tony Stewart and Ray Evernham’s new Superstar Racing Experience (SRX) series will debut this weekend, and on Monday, it announced its schedule.

The series will begin Saturday at Stafford Motor Speedway in Stafford Springs, Connecticut and will continue for six consecutive Saturdays. All six races will begin at 8 p.m. EST and will be televised by CBS.

Next week, SRX will be at Knoxville (Iowa) Raceway. The series will then venture to Stewart’s Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio, on June 26 and Lucas Oil Raceway in Indianapolis on July 3. The final two races will be July 10 at Slinger Speedway in Wisconsin and July 17 at Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway.

SRX is expected to have 12 drivers competing, including Stewart, Helio Castroneves, Bobby Labonte, Paul Tracy, Tony Kanaan, Willy T. Ribbs, Mark Webber, Bill Elliott and Ernie Francis Jr.

“Our goal in crafting the inaugural SRX schedule was to feature tracks that are challenging, unique and have a strong motorsports history. This six-race series does just that,” Stewart said in a news release. “Four renown pavement tracks in Stafford, Lucas Oil Raceway, Slinger and the Nashville Fairgrounds and the two most prestigious dirt tracks in the country — Eldora and Knoxville. All demand respect, and each forces drivers to adapt. What works at one track won’t necessarily transfer to another.

“These venues have seen some of the best racers in the country, but this will be the first time drivers from so many different disciplines will be racing on these historic tracks all at the same time,” he added. “We’re proud to deliver another exceptional event to each of these tracks’ already rich histories.”

Stewart and Evernham, both NASCAR Hall of Famers, founded the SRX series in July 2020.