Gilpin continues hot streak at Brownstown Speedway

Devin Gilpin of Columbus would once again park his Super Late Model in Victory Lane, winning the $5,000-to-win “Bobby Wilson Memorial” sponsored by “Slicker Graphics” on July 17 at Brownstown Speedway.

Gilpin held off all challengers to record his third win out of five Super Late Model events at the speedway this year.

Kent Robinson, Darrell Lanigan, Josh Rice and James Rice completed the top five. Sixth thru 10th were Kirk Phillips, Brad Barrow, David Webb, Tory Collins and Britan Godsey.

Steve Peeden of Paragon would make it two in a row in “P3 Graphix” ILMS Pro Late Models, winning the last two contested ILMS events. Peeden got the win ahead of Tyler Collins, Tyler Neal, Tyler Cain and Robert Rainey.

J.T. Huffman of Salem, the current “Pewter Hall” Super Stocks points leader, recorded his second win of the year. Huffman finished ahead of Branden Carr, Tucker Chastain, Zach Sasser and Matt Boknecht.

Bailey Jones picked up his first win of the year in “All in 1 Pools” Pure Stocks. Jones is the only driver this season to get a win other than Dusten Carr and Dalton Roark, who finished second and third. Brent McMillan and Mark Hines completed the top five.

In Hornet feature action, Chris Hillman Jr. of Mooresville would get his first win of the year at Brownstown. Blake Durbin, Skylar Ashley, John Graham and Jordan Turner rounded out the top five.

Brownstown will be idle tonight in preparation for the Jackson County 4-H Fair next week.

Results from Columbus go-karts

Columbus Speedway Go-Karts which holds races at the Tony Stewart Speedway located at the Bartholomew County 4-H Fairgrounds, held an event on July 17. Division winners were Kyle Thayer (clone420), Raelynn Kramer (rookies), Terry Turner (pred), Keith Miller (clone 340), Kyle Willis (rwyb), Elijah Knoke (junior 2), Ryder Williams (junior champ), Ayden Rudicel ()junior 1), Colton Lucas (flatheads), Grant Hiler (junior 3), Evan Shatto (clone 380) and Darrick Hubbard jr. (mod lites).

Neal wins event at Circle City

Tyler Neal of Paragon won the Indiana Pro Late Model Series event on Sunday at Circle City Raceway in Indianapolis. Steve Peeden finished in second, followed by Alan Edsall, Zack Burton and Austin Burton.

Twin Cities host Collins Memorial

After being rained out last week, Twin Cities Raceway Park in Vernon will be back in action tonight with the Ted Collins Memorial. On the schedule of events will be crate late models, open wheel modifieds, super stocks, pure stocks, hornets and crown vics. For more information, visit

Lawrenceburg USAC slated

Lawrenceburg Speedway will be back in action on Sunday with its USAC Indiana Speed Week event. Also competing will be open wheel modifieds. For ticket information, go to

This week in racing history

From 50 years ago tonight in 1971 at Twin Cities, Jon Peddie won the feature race over Tommy Day, Ron Eddy, J.C. Stainbrook and Keith Latimer.

Also from 50 years ago at 25th Street Fairgrounds Raceway in Columbus, it was Gene Petro winning the V-8 stock car feature over Luther Burton, Don Hobbs, Russ Petro, Mack Pace, Paul Crockett, Dennis Boknecht, George Morgan, John Warner and Kenny Bryant.

From 1971 at Paragon Speedway, Butch Wilkerson won the sprint car feature and Steve Bowlen took the stock feature race.

From 40 years ago in 1981 at Brownstown, Paul Crockett won the late model feature over Steve Barnett, Charlie Glotzbach, Noel Witcher and John Gill. Don Barnett won the modified street stock feature over Ernie Niemoeller, Gregg Lyle, Rick Hines and Dave Barnett.

Also from 40 years ago at Twin Cities, Gary Herbert won his 10th late model feature of the year over Dee Kramer, Chuck Gilpin, Steve Boley and John Mitchell. Randy Spry won the street stock feature over Darrell Smallwood, Russ Smiley, R.C. Calton and Jim Short.

From 40 years ago at Paragon, Chuck Amati won the sprint car feature race over Ron Dorsett, Kelly Kinser, Randy Kinser and Kerry Norris.

From 30 years ago in 1991 at Haubstadt, Kevin Claycomb won the late model feature over Bob Pierce and Eddie Pace. Mark Cummins won the sprint car feature over Jason Smith and Ray Morgan.

Also from 1991 at Paragon, Gary Trammell won the sprint car feature over Rick Unger, Todd Shields, Randy Kinser and Robbie Stanley. Dave Peeden won the stock car feature over Gary Harden, Denny Campbell, Dave Weddle and Lee Hobbs.

From 1991 at Bloomington, Danny Smith won the sprint car feature over Kelly Kinser, Jack Hewitt, Frankie Kerr and Kevin Huntley.

From 20 years ago in 2001 at Brownstown, Ernie Barrow won the3 late model feature over John Gill, Steve Smith, Doug McCammon and Dan Sturgeon. Jim Ruddick won the bomber feature over Matt Bex, Bubba Woods, Matt Cummings and Robert Walters. Jeremy Hines won the super stock feature over Brad Cummings, Mike Fields, Jay Deckard and Rick Hines.