Brownstown Speedway announces final point standings

Brownstown Speedway has announced its top point drivers for the 2021 racing season. The division champion were Devin Gilpin of Columbus (super late models), Matt Boknecht of Seymour (modifieds), Tyler Neal of Paragon (pro late models), J.T. Huffman of Salem (super stocks), Dusten Carr of Underwood (pure stocks), Davey Waggoner of North Vernon (hornets) and Michael Cranmer of Jeffersonville (crown vics).

The awards banquet will take place on Jan. 15 at Pewter Hall in Brownstown.

Super Late Models: 1. Devin Gilpin; 2. Britan Godsey; 3. Jared Bailey; 4. Skyller Lewis; 5. Shelby Miles; 6. Dusty Chapman; 7. Brad Barrow; 8. Darrell Lanigan; 9. Scott James; 10. Joe Godsey. Rookie of the Year: Casey White.

UMP Modifieds: 1. Matt Boknecht; 2. Bill Lewis; 3. Jacoby Hines; 4. Brent Lee; 5. Jordan Wever; 6. David Winters Jr.; 7. Brayden Watson; 8. Zachary Stalker; 9. Derek Groomer; 10. Lucas Pace. Rookie of the Year: Brent Lee.

Indiana Pro Late Model Series: 1. Tyler Neal; 2. Steve Peeden; 3. Zack Burton; 4. Robert Rainey; 5. Justin Bowling; 6. Austin Burton; 7. Colton Sullivan; 8. Keaton Streeval; 9. Raymond Humphrey; 10. Tyler Cain. Rookie of the Year: Austin Burton.

Super Stocks: 1. J.T. Huffman; 2. Zach Sasser; 3. Tucker Chastain; 4. Derek Clegg; 5. Brad Frye; 6. Steve Hollars; 7. Isaiah Sasser; 8. Grant Simpson; 9. Jeff Allen; 10. Mike Fields. Rookie of the Year: Isaiah Sasser.

Pure Stocks: 1. Dusten Carr; 2. Tommy Fleenor; 3. Keaton Streeval; 4. Dalton Roark; 5. Josh Hayes; 6. Conner Mertens; 7. Donnie Wilson; 8. Eric Lewis; 9. Preston Carr; 10. Dalton Fleenor. Rookie of the Year: Eric Lewis.

Hornets: 1. Davey Waggoner; 2. Jason Graham; 3. Gabe Caudill; 4. John Graham; 5. Jeremy Shemwell; 6. Scott Smith; 7. Brandon Crockett; 8. Jacob Owens; 9. Michael Brewer; 10. Don Bowling Jr. Rookie of the Year: John Graham.

Crown Vics: 1. Michael Cranmer; 2. Phillip Boudreaux; 3. Jack Roberts; 4. Brandon Cranmer; 5. Joe Murdock; 6. Chris Atwood; 7. Chris Batchelor; 8. Holly Heil; 9. Billy Heil; 10. Anthony Finley. Rookie of the Year: Chris Atwood.

USAC Silver Crown schedule released

Eleven points paying events — six on pavement and five on dirt — make up the trail for the 2022 USAC Silver Crown National Championship season, along with an additional special dash race, which marks the first occurrence of such a contest for the series in a quarter-century.

The newest addition to the schedule takes the series to the speedy half-mile Port Royal Speedway in Port Royal, Pennsylvania, for the first time ever on June 18 amid the Eastern Storm tour for the USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship. The event will mark a true USAC National doubleheader, with both the Silver Crown and National Sprint divisions contesting full programs on the same night.

On the pavement side of the equation is World Wide Technology Raceway, formerly known as Gateway, when it most recently hosted the series in 2016. At 1.25 miles in length, the Madison, Illinois, venue is the largest track the series will compete on during the 2022 campaign.

The dirt kicks off the season on May 1 with the 19th running of the Sumar Classic at Terre Haute Action Track, one of three dirt half-miles on the schedule, along with Port Royal and Tony Stewart’s Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio, which welcomes the 40th edition of the 4-Crown Nationals on Sept. 23-24.

The two iconic Illinois mile dirt tracks in Springfield and Du Quoin are an annual staple of fair season during the late summer months. The 59th running of the Bettenhausen 100 is slated for Aug. 20 at the Illinois State Fairgrounds, while the 71st edition of the Ted Horn 100 is locked in for Labor Day Weekend, Sept. 3.

Three visits to Lucas Oil Indianapolis Raceway Park are on tap for USAC Silver Crown racing in 2022, the most ever in a single season. Two 100-lap full-points races are scheduled at the .686-mile paved oval, on May 27 for the Carb Night Classic and on Oct. 22 for the season finale on Open-Wheel Championship Saturday.

The first Silver Crown non-points special event since 1996 is headed to IRP for the USAC Silver Crown Shootout on June 30, which will feature a 10-car field fighting for the prize in a 25-lap sprint.

The summer months of June, July and August present a trio of events on half-mile, high-banked paved ovals, starting with Oregon, Wisconsin’s Madison International Speedway, which brings the series to the Dairyland 100 for the third time on June 24.

Winchester Speedway’s blazing fast, 37-degree banks served as the host of the closest USAC Silver Crown finish of the entire 2021 season. The legendary eastern Indiana venue is back on the docket for the second time this season with the Rich Vogler Classic.

The Glass City of Toledo, Ohio, routinely proves to be a pivotal round for the series, and Toledo Speedway’s ninth appearance on the USAC Silver Crown schedule is set for Aug. 6 with the Rollie Beale Classic.

The 2022 USAC Silver Crown National Championship schedule:

May 1: Terre Haute Action Track, Terre Haute, Sumar Classic

May 27: Lucas Oil Indianapolis Raceway Park, Brownsburg, Carb Night Classic

June 18: Port Royal Speedway,Port Royal, Pa.

June 24: Madison International Speedway, Oregon, Wisc., Dairyland 100

June 30: Lucas Oil Indianapolis Raceway Park, Brownsburg, USAC Silver Crown Shootout (Non-Points Special Event)

July 21: Winchester Speedway, Winchester, Rich Vogler Classic

Aug. 6: Toledo Speedway, Toledo, Ohio, Rollie Beale Classic

Aug. 19: World Wide Technology Raceway, Madison, Ill.

Aug. 20: Illinois State Fairgrounds, Springfield, Ill., Bettenhausen 100

Sept. 3: Du Quoin State Fairgrounds, Du Quoin, Ill., Ted Horn 100

Sept. 23-24: Eldora Speedway, Rossburg, Ohio, 4-Crown Nationals

Oct. 22: Lucas Oil Indianapolis Raceway Park, Brownsburg, Open-Wheel Championship Saturday

James Esses writes a motorsports notebook for The Republic. Send comments to [email protected]