Youth Leadership Bartholomew County has leadership event, awards scholarships

COLUMBUS, Ind. — Bartholomew County students were awarded $15,000 in scholarships and took part in leadership workshops at the Youth Leadership Bartholomew County Leadership Day at The Commons on Monday.

More than 100 students took part in the event, said YLBC committee member Todd Voelz. The event included the announcement of awards, which were based on students’ performance in three areas: essay writing, resume development and a professional interview.

Three students were awarded $3,000 each for earning the highest point totals across all three categories: Claire King, Esha Aras, and Flynn Keele. All three attend Columbus North High School.


The top 10 essay winners received $300 each and were Rachel Hoke (Hauser), Jayden Cross (North), Fareeh Parvin (North), Addyson Rogers (North), Isabella Saldivar (East), Leah Hartwell (North), Esha Aras (North), Benjamin Genter (North), Sadhna Srikanth (East) and Claire Brooks (East). Essays were graded by Ivy Tech Community College Columbus’s English department.

The top 10 resume winners, also receiving $300 each, were Esha Aras (North), Medi Guest (North), Paul Ramos Perez (North), Ritisha Rashmil (North), Peter Coriden (East), Katherine Schmelz (North), Jayden Cross (North), Chloe Krueger (East), Briana Dwenger (North) and Isabelle Larken (North). Resumes were evaluated by local human resources professionals.

Additionally, as part of Leadership Day, Rick Weinheimer of Everyday Excellence and Josh Fletcher, a mentalist from the Kentucky area, presented leadership workshops to the youth leaders from Hauser, CSA New Tech, Columbus East and Columbus North.

Parents attended an afternoon reception, which included displays with photos, bios and information about each leader’s achievements and future plans. Each student was given a certificate of completion at the program’s end.