11 to enter softball Hall of Fame; All-Star Game set for Aug. 24

Fans watch the inaugural Columbus Indiana Slo-Pitch Softball Hall of Fame All-Star Game Aug. 11, 2023 at Lincoln Park.

The Republic file photo

Six men and five women have been selected for induction into the 2024 class of the Columbus Indiana Slo-Pitch Softball Hall of Fame.

This year’s inductees are Cathy Brummett, Ronnie Clark, Paula Foster, Brenda Freeman, Dick Hendrickson, Lisa Huff, Pat Littrell, Jim Norris, Brian Rice, Jeff Turnbow and Gary Welmer. The 11 inductees bring the total to 57 men, 16 women, five teams and two organizations since the Hall of Fame was started in 2019.

The class will be inducted Nov. 2 at The Eagles. Doors open at 5:15 p.m., with cocktails at 5:30 p.m., dinner at 6 p.m. and awards at 7 p.m. Tickets are $35 and must be purchased by Oct. 26.

The Second Annual Inductees Hall of Fame All-Star Game will be at 3 p.m. Aug. 24 at Lincoln Park. Mayor Mary Ferdon will throw out the first pitch. Steve Imlay will be conducting a hitting clinic that morning, and the Home Run Derby begins at 1 p.m. (registration starts at noon). Admission is $5.

Columbus Indiana Slo-Pitch Softball Hall of Fame also will host a Cornhole Tournament fundraiser at 3 p.m. July 28 at The Eagles. Registration starts at 2 p.m. that day, and the entry fee is $40 per team. For more information, contact Diana Daeger at 812-767-0570.

The Inaugural CISSHOF Golf Scramble will be at 11 a.m. Oct. 5 at Otter Creek. Entry fee is $320 per four-person team. The tournament is open to the first 25 teams with paid registrations. To register, contact Rob Likens on Facebook or call Jerry Cox at 812-344-5689 or Otter Creek at 812-579-5227.

CISSHOF also is starting a scholarship program. The organization will give away a 1,000 scholarship to a senior fast-pitch player from Columbus East, Columbus North or Hauser. Head coaches from those schools can submit applications for seniors on their teams. For more information, contact Cox at 812-344-5689.