School News – February 1

Local students win in C4 film contest

Students in the culinary arts, building trades, television/radio production, mechanical drafting and agriculture recently took part in a C4 Promotional Film Contest.The goal of the contest was to increase awareness and enrollment in certain C4 clusters through the use of social media.Students created mini-films that showcased their class and encouraged future enrollment.

Winners included Seena Greiwe, a junior at Columbus East High School and a C4 TV Production student. Her film showcased her television/radio production class. She won for the most shared film on social media.

Joseph Rumph, a senior from Seymour who attends Columbus North High School and C4, was also named a winner. He is a mechanical drafting student. Rumph won judge’s choice for his film.

Young Marines taking applications

The Columbus Young Marines, a nonprofit youth education program, is accepting applications from boys and girls ages eight through high school for the spring 2016 recruit class.Applications will be accepted at 4131 Rocky Ford Road at the following dates and times:n 9 a.m. to noon Feb. 13

•6 to 8 p.m. Feb. 16

•6 to 8 p.m. Feb. 18.

Cost is $120 and includes complete uniform with boots, guide books, ribbons and Young Marine magazine subscription. The spring session meets from 9 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. each Saturday for 13 weeks.

North has three Scholastic winners

The Columbus North High School art department had three winners in the Regional Scholastic Art & Writing Awards of Central and Southern Indiana. A panel of regional artists and art professionals selected student work from students in a 54-county region.Awards for North included:n Natasha Davis received two Gold Keys (out of 146) for artwork demonstrating the highest level of achievement in originality, personal voice and technical skill. Gold Key artwork is forwarded to New York City for national judging.

•Alisha Melton received a Silver Key (out of 255 keys) for distinguished artwork demonstrating achievement at the regional level.

•Katrina May received an Honorable Mention (out of 458) for artwork demonstrating creative potential.

Sheriff association to award scholarships

The Indiana Sheriff’s Association will award $500 college scholarships to qualified high school seniors or college students who are pursuing a degree in criminal justice studies. There will be about 40 scholarships that are awarded to Indiana students.Applicants must be an Indiana resident, a current member of the association or a dependent child or grandchild of a current member, attend an Indiana college or university, major in law enforcement and be enrolled full-time.The scholarship application may be downloaded from the Indiana Sheriff’s Association website at or applications are available at the Bartholomew County Sheriff’s Department in downtown Columbus.

Applications must be completed and received by the The Indiana Sheriff’s Association, 147 E. Maryland St., Indianapolis, IN 46204-3608 on or before April 1.

North announces all-state band members

Columbus North High School had 17 band students selected for the All-State Bands. Students had to perform a live audition, which were recorded and sent to one location were they were judged.North Central High School had the most students selected, followed by Columbus North. North did have the most students selected for the Honor Band. This is the highest of the two bands.These students will perform with their bands at Purdue University on March 13th.

Honor Band (The Highest Group): Sam Heichelbech — junior, clarinet; Brittany Davis — junior, clarinet; Lillie Petro — senior, clarinet; Catherine Gallant — junior, bass clarinet; Clayton Stine — junior, alto sax; Machi Takeda — sophomore, trombone; Tiger Fu — senior, trombone; Brandon Wolter — junior, euphonium; Bern Woon — senior, tuba; Henry Lay — senior, tuba.

All-State Band: Meredith Ondrejack — Senior, piccolo; Devan Rhoades — senior, alto sax; Erin Brown — Junior, trombone; Matt Allman — junior, percussion

Alternates: (these students will be selected to play if one of the students from either of the bands are ill and cannot perform) Caleb Bray — junior trumpet; Eli Heichelbech — freshman, trombone; Chris Ruble — sophomore, tuba.

Author photo
Kaitlyn Evener is an editorial assistant for The Republic. She can be reached at or 812-379-5633.