Lawmakers welcome students in Indy

Staff Reports

State Reps. Milo Smith, R-Columbus, and Jim Lucas, R-Seymour, recently welcomed area students to the Statehouse in Indianapolis.

Smith welcomed 13 student pages who attend ABC-Stewart School in Columbus — 12 of whom live in the city:

Anya Carroll

Ava Hearn

Carly McCawley

Cayden Brand

Edward Hu

Karissa Miller

Kieran Rodriguez

Makenna McCord

Mercedes Andreae

Mya Gilliatt

Naomi Warner

Serissa Clark, Nashville

Zachary Wager

As House pages, the students toured government offices, helped staff with daily duties and joined Smith on the House floor as they conducted business. Students ages 13 to 18 may consider participating next session.

Lucas welcomed Seymour resident Samantha Shell to the Statehouse, where she is interning with the House of Representatives during the 2016 legislative session.

Shell is the daughter of Craig and Tina Collins. A 2012 Seymour High School graduate, Shell attends IUPUC, where she is majoring in business with concentrations in marketing and management.

As an intern in the House Majority Communications Office, Shell helps write press releases, create legislative handouts and set up press conferences.

The House of Representatives offers paid internship opportunities to college students, law-school students, graduate students and recent college graduates for the duration of each legislative session.

Go online at for more information about the House Republican internship program. To fill out an application, go online at or call 800-382-9841.