Record-breaking weekend at Brownstown

For the first time since 2011, the AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Series visited the Brownstown Speedway on May 21. There were a total of 111 racecars on hand for the night as the track hosted its first complete show since April 23.

A total of 17 cars broke the existing track record at Brownstown for Non-Wing Sprints. C.J. Leary of Greenfield is now the new track record-holder with a lap of 12.899 seconds around the quarter-mile dirt oval.

Kevin Thomas Jr. of Cullman, Alabama, took the feature win for his first USAC victory of the season. Brady Bacon finished in second, followed by Dave Darland, Thomas Meseraull and Leary.

The first-ever appearance at Brownstown for the RaceSaver Sprint cars saw Vincennes racer Kendall Ruble take the victory. Ethan Barrow was second, followed by Ethan Fleetwood, Dakota Jackson of Elizabethtown and Luke Bland.

The second visit of the year by the MMSA Mini Sprints saw Scott Bradley take the win over Andy Bradley, Brad Strunk, Danny Fitzgerald and Lynn Ambrose.

Hudson O’Neal of Martinsville took his second consecutive Indiana Pro Late Model Series victory. He was trailed to the finish line by his uncle Marty O’Neal of Spencer, Justin Shaw of Greenwood, Raymond Humphrey of Bloomington and Tyler Cain from Seymour.

Tonight, Brownstown will host the Scott Patman Memorial a special event for the Super Stocks. Also racing will be the Super Late Models, Indiana Pro Late Models, Modifieds and Pure Stocks. For more info, go to

Thomas completes weekend double

Kevin Thomas Jr. completed a successful weekend, as he won the Sprint Car feature on May 22 at the Kokomo Speedway in Kokomo. Thomas followed up his USAC win at Brownstown the previous night by taking the main event over Shane Cottle, Jerry Coons Jr., Chris Windom and C.J. Leary.

Josh Gamblin won the Hornet division feature at Kokomo. He was trailed to the finish line by Jason Wilkinson, Darrell Sylvester of North Vernon, Stephen Byrd and Jamie Ogle of Columbus.

Steve Peeden captured the Super Stock special at Kokomo. Marty Cooper finished second, followed by Jamey Wilson, Josh Boller and Jason Hehman.

This Sunday night, Kokomo hosts its Kokomo Classic. Racing will be 410 Non-Wing Sprints, Thunder Cars, Hornets and Modifieds. For more info, visit

Weir gets USAC win at Gas City

Scotty Weir captured his first career AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car feature on May 20 at I-69 Speedway in Gas City. Brady Bacon finished second, followed by Kevin Thomas Jr., Max McGhee and Tyler Courtney.

Paragon gets season opener in

Paragon Speedway in Paragon became the last track in the area to open their season May 21.

Jake Scott or Morgantown captured the track’s first Sprint Car feature of the season. Travis Berryhill was second, followed by Josh Cunningham, Chris Babcock and Pat Giddens.

Chris Hillman of Camby won the Super Stock feature over Steve Hawkins, Winston Howe, Aubrey Eagan and Tucker Chastain.

The Hornet division main event went to Gregg O’Neill. Following O’Neill to the finish line were Randy Dugan, Mark Gott and A.J. Hobbs.

Tonight, Paragon will host the MMSA Mini Sprints, 410 Non-Wing Sprints, Bombers, Super Stocks, Pure Stocks and Hornets. For more info, go to

Burton ends Lawrenceburg drought

William Burton of North Vernon picked up his first Pure Stock feature win at Lawrenceburg Speedway since 2008 on May 21. Burton led Don Grace, Corebin McRoberts, J.D. Largent and Chris Combs across the finish line.

Burton’s car is sponsored by BKN Recycling, Moore Signs, Core Capital Truck Parts, Fastlap Entertainment and Right Auto Parts.

Shawn Westerfeld of Guilford won the 410 Non-Wing Sprint Car feature race. Jarett Andretti finished second, followed by Joss Moffatt of Columbus, Dallas Hewitt and North Vernon’s Drew Abel.

Dalton Smith outran Gage Clark to win the Hornet division feature at Lawrenceburg. Tony Napier II was third, followed by Andrew Casanova and Michelle Baird.

Defending track champion Matt Hamilton won the Modified feature. Scott Kincaid was second, followed by Kyle Schornick, David Spille and Jim Szekacs.

Lawrenceburg will be back in action on Monday night with a special appearance by the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series. Advance tickets are still on sale. You can go to for further info.

Eldora in action this weekend

Tony Stewart’s Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio will host a Memorial Day Weekend race program Sunday evening. On the race card will be the Johnny Appleseed Classic for Late Models, NRA Sprint Invaders, Modifieds and Eldora Stocks. For more info, visit