After being idle since April, the Twin Cities Raceway Park in Vernon will reopen tonight with a full racing program of Super Late Models, UMRA TQ Midgets, Pure Stocks, Hornets and B-Mods.

The track ran one race in April before closing to make repairs to the facility and equipment. Promoter Rick Robinson of Columbus said things are full speed ahead for the rest of the season, with the track hosting events the next two weekends in June after tonight’s festivities.

On June 18, Twin Cities will host the Crate Late Models, Super Stocks and Hornets. On June 25, the race schedule will include 410 Non-Wing Sprint Cars, Modifieds, Super Stocks, Pure Stocks and Hornets.

For more information, go to

Race team dominates

With eight racecars at their disposal, the Columbus-based Keith Kunz and Pete Willoughby race team set its hopes high for a clean sweep of the 12th Annual USAC Indiana Midget Week, and the team did just that, winning all five of the races contested last week.The event at Lawrenceburg was rained out last Saturday.

The action started out on May 31 at Montpelier Speedway in Montpelier. NASCAR Sprint Cup driver Kyle Larson rolled to the win, followed by 3-time Indianapolis 500 participant Bryan Clauson, Christopher Bell, Jerry Coons Jr. and Brady Bacon.

On June 1, the midgets headed to Gas City I-69 Speedway in Gas City and a first-time winner emerged. Spencer Bayston, last year’s USAC National Midget Series Rookie of the Year, scored his first career series victory over Clauson, Larson, Zach Daum and Bell.

On June 2, Lincoln Park Speedway in Putnamville was the site of the third race of the week and Tanner Thorson picked up the victory. Clauson was again second, followed by Tyler Thomas, Rico Abreu and Bayston.

On Friday, June 3, the red clay of Bloomington Speedway hosted more than 40 cars, and Christopher Bell came home the winner for the third straight year. Dave Darland finished in second, followed by Clauson, Shane Golobic and Bayston.

Following last Saturday’s rainout at Lawrenceburg, the series concluded its weeklong journey with a visit to Kokomo Speedway on June 5. NASCAR Camping World Truck Series regular Rico Abreu went to Victory Lane to complete the sweep for the Kunz and Willoughby team — with the wins picked up by five different drivers.

Trailing Abreu at Kokomo were Bayston, Chad Boat, Bacon and Bell.

The Kunz and Willoughby Curb-Agajanian Motorsports/TRD/Bullit/Speedway/Toyota cars are sponsored by DC Solar, JBL Audio, Mobil 1, Parker Stores and Target.

Clauson, who drives for Keith Kunz’ brother Rusty Kunz, was named the overall point champion for the week.

Also at Kokomo in the 410 Non-Wing Sprint Cars, Clauson won the feature event over Kevin Thomas Jr., Tyler Courtney, Bacon and Tyler Hewitt.

Eldora hosts

$100,000 raceTony Stewart’s Eldora Speedway, located in Rossburg, Ohio, will host one of the biggest races of the season for dirt late models.

The 22nd Annual Dirt Late Model Dream finale will be contested tonight with a top prize of $100,000 going to the winner. Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Georgia was the winner a year ago after Hall of Fame driver Scott Bloomquist came up 25 pounds light at the scales after the race.

For more information, go to

Rain spoils local racing

Brownstown, Florence, Lawrenceburg and Paragon were rained out last Saturday.

Mid-week events planned

The Brownstown Speedway will be idle tonight. The next scheduled event will be the 32nd Annual Hoosier Dirt Classic on June 15. The event will kick off the 2016 edition of the UMP Summernationals with a $5,000 payoff on the line. Racing will be UMP Late Models, Modifieds and Super Stocks.

For more information, visit

Pair of tracks in action

The Lawrenceburg Speedway will be back in action tonight with a full card of 410 Non-Wing Sprints, Modifieds, Pure Stocks, and Hornets. It will be Kids Night at the track. For more info, go to Paragon Speedway will play host to last weekend’s rained out Twin 30’s for 410 Non-Wing Sprint cars.

Also racing will be Super Stocks, Bombers, Pure Stocks and Hornets.

For more information, go to


n plans racesThe Bloomington Speedway will be back in action June 17 with 410 Non-Wing Sprints, Modifieds, Super Stocks and Hornets.

For more information, go to

Weekend in racing history

In 1986, Phil Fultz of Clifford won the Street Stock Feature at Twin Cities. Gary Burton of Columbus finished second, followed by Darrell Smallwood of Columbus, Dennis Barber of North Vernon and Buddy Franks of North Vernon.Fultz also won the same weekend in 1972 by capturing the main event at Riverview Speedway in Milton, Kentucky. He was victorious over Jon Peddie, Bob Wolfslag, Oscar Gray and Denny Long.

In the Late Model division in at Twin Cities in 1986, Doug Ault won the feature event. Lee Fleetwood was second, followed by Scott McKeand of North Vernon, Jim Beeman of North Vernon and Sam Murphy.

At Brownstown Speedway 30 years ago, Noel Witcher won the Late Model Feature over Ray Godsey, Jim Curry, Dennis Boknecht and Steve Boley.

Mike Jewell captured the Modified Street Stock main event at Brownstown over Earl Plessinger, Billy Filburn, Danny Blackwell and Joe Wilson.

In 1976, John Warner of Columbus won the Late Model Feature at Whitewater Valley Speedway in Liberty. John Lawhorn was second, followed by Charlie Byrd, Vern LeFevers and Billy Brandenburg.

Also 40 years ago, Russ Petro of Columbus won the Late Model Feature at Martin County Speedway in Loogootee.

At Brownstown in 1976, Jim Curry won the Late Model Feature over Dennis Boknecht, Paul Crockett, Don Hobbs and Ira Bastin.

Scott Taskey of Columbus captured the Hobby Stock feature at Brownstown over Ed Covey, Dink Morrison, Ed Hall and Red Reynolds.

James Essex is the motorsports columnist for The Republic. Send comments to