USAC Indiana Sprint Week underway

The AMSOIL USAC Indiana Sprint week is off and running.

The I-69 Gas City Speedway hosted the first event Friday night. The weeklong series for 410 Non-Wing Sprints will travel to Kokomo Speedway tonight and race Sunday night at Lawrenceburg Speedway.

Next week, the series will run Wednesday at the Terre Haute Action Track, Thursday at Lincoln Park Speedway in Putnamville, Friday at Bloomington Speedway, and the series concludes on July 16 at Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt.

Twin Cities back racing tonight

After a weekend off for the Fourth of July, the Twin Cities Raceway Park in Vernon will be holding races tonight. On the race card will be 410 Non-Wing Sprints, Modifieds, Super Stocks, Pure Stocks and Hornets. For further info, visit

Short back on top at Bloomington

Brady Short of Bedford got back to his winning ways at Bloomington Speedway as he won the Sprint Car Feature on July 1. Jeff Bland of Bedford finished second; followed by Tyler Thomas of Collinsville, Oklahoma; Bub Cummings of Bedford and Dakota Jackson of Elizabethtown.

Jackson, who did double-duty at Bloomington, racing in two divisions, won the RaceSaver Sprint Car Feature. Kendall Ruble of Vincennes was second, with Ryan Tusing of Santa Claus taking third.

Columbus’ Devin Gilpin won the Modified main event over Jacoby Hines of Nineveh. The rest of the top five were filled out by Bloomington drivers Jordan Wever, John DeMoss and Derek Groomer.

Jamey Wilson of Seymour grabbed the Super Stock Feature winnings. Chris Hillman of Camby was second, followed by Steve Hollars of Bloomington, Steve Peeden of Paragon and Aubrey Eagin of Bedford.

Gilpin wins late model special at Brownstown

Gilpin won his second straight Super Late Model main event on July 2 at Brownstown Speedway. Gilpin took top honors in winning the Born Free 40, which paid $5,000 to win. It was the biggest Late Model win for Gilpin and his car owner, Jim Beeman of North Vernon.

Michael Chilton of Salvisa, Kentucky, finished second to Gilpin. They were followed across the finish line by Steve Casebolt of Richmond, Justin Rattliff of Campbellsville, Kentucky, and Adam Bowman of Seymour.

In the Indiana Pro Late Model Division at Brownstown, Chad Stapleton of Edinburgh emerged victorious. Remington Gill of Mitchell placed second, followed by Raymond Humphrey of Bloomington, Steven Godsey of Bedford and Connor Meade of Clay City, Kentucky.

Mike Fields of Scottsburg won the Super Stock Feature. He was followed to the finish line by David Brewer of Seymour, Jamey Wilson of Seymour, Aubrey Eagin of Bedford and Columbus’ Randy Petro.

Tim Rivers of Salem won his second consecutive Pure Stock Feature at Brownstown. Troy Clark of North Vernon was second. Dusten Carr of Austin placed third. Jim Ruddick of Seymour and Kevin Applegate of North Vernon completed the top five drivers.

In the Hornet class, it was Elizabethtown’s Trent Adams taking the feature event. Brandon Gibson of Dry Ridge, Kentucky, was second. The rest of the top five were Jacob Owens of North Vernon, Zach Burton of Edinburgh and Darrell Sylvester of North Vernon.

Brownstown will be back in action tonight with the Super Late Models, Indiana Pro Late Models, Modifieds, Super Stocks and Pure Stocks. For more info, visit

Lawrenceburg results

Victor Lee of Danville, Kentucky, captured the Merrill Downey Memorial for Modifieds on July 2 at the Lawrenceburg Speedway. David Spille finished second ahead of Nick Hoffman, Ray Bollinger and Chad Kinder. A total of 60 Modifieds were on hand for the special event.

Also at Lawrenceburg, Robby Hensley of Richwood, Kentucky, captured the Late Model Feature race. Wayne Chinn placed second, with Scott James, Duane Chamberlain and Nick Latham completing the top five.

Paragon results

Event winners on July 2 at Paragon Speedway included Ethan Barrow of Bloomington (Sprints), Chris Hillman of Camby (Super Stocks), Tyler Neal of Paragon (Bombers) and Gregg O’Neill of Mooresville (Hornets). Felisha Lucas of Edinburgh placed fourth in the Hornet Feature.

This week in racing history

This weekend in 1968, Russ Petro of Columbus, driving a 1961 Ford, swept the race program at 25th Street Speedway in Columbus. He won the trophy dash, consy event and the Late Model Feature. He also wrapped up the night by winning the Demo Derby.

On this weekend in 1969, Dick Gaines won the Sprint Car Feature at Bloomington Speedway. Bob Kinser finished second. He was followed by Bobby Black of Taylorsville, Allen Barr of Columbus and Calvin Gilstrap.

In 1971 at 25th Street Speedway, Gene Petro of Columbus won the 8-cylinder Late Model Feature. He was followed by Russ Smiley and Paul Crockett.

The same night at 25th Street, the 6-cylinder main event went to Tommy Day over Ron Eddy of Columbus, Leo Boner of North Vernon and Larry Exner of Columbus.

At Twin Cities in 1976, Bud Seymour won the Sportsman Feature event over Phil Fultz of Clifford and Troy Burton of Columbus.

At Brownstown 40 years ago, it was Paul Crockett taking the Late Model Feature victory over Bob Fleetwood, Dennis Boknecht, Russ Petro of Columbus and Robert Earl.

Scott Taskey of Columbus won the Hobby Stock Feature event. He was followed by Steve Trabue, Ed Covey, Sam Cooper and Darrell Smallwood of Columbus.

On this weekend 30 years ago in 1986, John Gill won the Late Model Feature at Brownstown. He was followed by Don Hobbs, Paul Shafer, Rick Hines and Kevin Claycomb.

Steve Trabue won the Modified Street Stock main at Brownstown over Merrill Downey, Mike Jewell, Earl Plessinger and Tom Seadler.

Randy Petro of Columbus took top honors in the Street Stock Division at Brownstown over Mark Bruce, Joe Johnson of North Vernon, Denny Campbell and Gregg Lyle of Columbus.