2 appointed to county panels

Lynne Fleming, a Democrat who made an unsuccessful run for the Bartholomew County Council last year, has been appointed to a four-year term on the Bartholomew County Health Board.

The retired educator succeeds Dennis Stark, who asked the Bartholomew County commissioners not to reappoint him to the nine-member board when his term ended at the end of last year.

During their Feb. 20 meeting, commissioners also appointed Dennis White to the 11-member Bartholomew County Plan Commission to replaces Don Meier, whose term also expired.

Fleming and White fulfill a state statute that requires the all-Republican commissioners to appoint a specific number of Democrats to certain boards and commissions.

Both White and Meier reside in the Elizabethtown area.

Author photo
Mark Webber is a reporter for The Republic. He can be reached at mwebber@therepublic.com or 812-379-5636.