SWAT partnership becomes permanent

The Columbus Police Department is expanding its SWAT team to include deputies from the Bartholomew County Sheriff’s Department.

The partnership, which began on a trial basis in 2016, will add three deputies to the SWAT team.

Columbus Police Chief Jon Rohde said the added officers will allow the SWAT team to become a more efficient and effective unit.

The Columbus Police Department SWAT team was established in 1987 and consists of officers with special training to handle highly volatile situations including people who barricade themselves in homes, serving high-risk warrants and hostage situations. The team responds to emergencies in and around Columbus and Bartholomew County about eight to 10 times a year.