California native earns Brownstown win

Chad Boespflug came home the winner of the rain-delayed “No-Way Out 40” on June 24 at Brownstown Speedway.

Boespflug, driving the Mean Green/Hoffman Racing-owned sprint car earned $7,500 for his first victory in the event. He became the eighth different driver to win the race in the nine-year history of the race.

The race was originally scheduled for March, but was rained out after nine laps were scored.

Boespflug, a California native who is now residing in Plainfield, has relatives in the area. His parents, Todd and Monica Boespflug, live in Seymour, and his grandparents, Bob and Phyliss Gatten, reside in Columbus.

Tyler Courtney of Indianapolis finished in second, with Shane Cottle of Kokomo taking third. C.J. Leary of Greenfield came home fourth, with Bedford’s Brady Short completing the top-five competitors.

Brady Short came back to win the $2,000-to-win MSCS sprint car feature race. Courtney finished in second, with Jon Stanbrough of Avon placing third. Bill Rose of Plainfield was fourth, with Carson Short of Marion, Illinois, taking fifth.

Jason Setser of Columbus won the UMRA King of the TQ Midgets main event that was regularly scheduled for the night. Matthew Hedrick of Rushville was second, with Rick Robinson of Columbus finishing up in third. Robbie Roland of Carthage was fourth, and Nick Speidel of Muncie was fifth.

Speidel won the rained-out portion of the program from March, taking the win over Beau Binder of Columbus, Callie Wolsiffer of New Palestine, Kirby Petry of Greenfield and Caleb Faulkner of Columbus.

Marty O’Neal of Spencer made it four in a row in the Indiana Pro Late Model main event. O’Neal drives a car owned by Larry Hartwell of North Vernon. Austin Burns of Morgantown was second, and Chad Stapleton of Edinburgh was third. Completing the top five were Steven Godsey of Bedford and Chase Briscoe of Mitchell, who was driving a car normally driven by Isaac Rainey of Bedford.

Tim Rivers of Salem, the current points leader in the pure stock division, won the main event June 24 at Brownstown. Jason Combs of Seymour saw his two-race win string broken when he came home in second place to Rivers. Jeremy Huebner of Loogootee was third, with Josh Hayes of Seymour and Keaton Streeval of Edinburgh finishing in fourth and fifth.

At Brownstown tonight will be a special event for the super late models, with the MARS DirtCar Series visiting with a $5,000-to-win payday on the line. Also racing will be the Indiana Pro Late Models, Super Stocks, Pure Stocks and Modifieds. For more info, visit

Carrier wins at Florence

Eddie Carrier Jr. of Salt Rock, West Virginia, returned to Florence Speedway Victory Lane June 24, winning the $10,000 super late model feature event at the Union, Kentucky, speedplant. Jason Jameson of Lawrenceburg finished a close second, with Michael Chilton of Salvisa, Kentucky grabbing the third spot. Steve Casebolt of Richmond, who drives a car owned by Jim Beeman of North Vernon, was fourth in the final rundown, with Zack Dohm of Cross Lanes, West Virginia, taking fifth. Hudson O’Neal of Martinsville was sixth.

Florence will be off the two weekends with racing resuming on July 15. For more info, visit

Lawrenceburg hosts special event tonight

Lawrenceburg Speedway will be holding a special event tonight with the running of the Merrill Downey Memorial. On the docket will be modifieds and super late models. For more info, visit

Paragon racing tonight

After a weekend off, Paragon Speedway will resume its 2017 racing schedule tonight with 410 non-wing sprints, super stocks, bombers and hornets. For more info, visit

Twin Cities to host Sunday show

Twin Cities Raceway Park in Vernon will be back in action Sunday night with a special race program. On the race program will be super late models paying $1,200 to win. Also in competition will be hornets, pure stocks, super stocks and modifieds. For more info, visit

Twin Cities will return to its regular Saturday night shows next weekend.

Salem in action this weekend

Salem Speedway will host the Lucas Oil Grand American Stock Car event on Sunday, along with the front wheel drive stock 50. For more info, visit

This week in racing history

From 50 years ago, in 1967 at Bloomington Speedway, Richard Jackson won the supermodified feature over Rex Mitchell, Bob Kinser, Kenny Ferrand and Larry Miller.

From 1977, Bobby Black of Taylorsville won the sprint car feature at Bloomington over Dick Gaines, Kerry Norris of Columbus, Mike Johnson and Bernie Graybeal.

Russ Petro of Columbus won the hobby stock feature at Bloomington. Buck Turpin finished second, with Bill Smith of Columbus, Chuck Gilpin of Columbus and Tony Moore completing the top five finishers.

Also from 40 years ago in 1977, Twin Cities ran two holiday events. Darrell Smallwood of Columbus won the hobby stock main event over Dee Kramer, Bruce Steinert and Columbus drivers Bill Smith and Kenny Mize.

Two days later, it was Phil Fultz of Clifford winning the hobby stock feature event. Dee Kramer finished second, and Jim Lawson was third. Bud Seymour was fourth, and Butch Bland of Columbus crossed the line in fifth.

Also in racing action from 1977, Dennis Boknecht won the late model feature at Brownstown over Jim Curry, John Davis, Lump Colwell and Jerry Asbury.

Dusty Chapman took the hobby stock feature at Brownstown, winning over Kelly Eisele, Stan Wiggam, Jack Turner of Edinburgh and Larry Kiser.

From 30 years ago in 1987 at Twin Cities, Dill Whittymore won the late model feature race over Mike Gibbs, Gary Herbert, Doug Ault and Jim Patterson of North Vernon. Mark Barber of North Vernon took top honors in the street stock class, winning over Phil Fultz, Mark Bruce, Mark Clark of North Vernon and Troy Burton of Columbus.

Also from 1987, Brownstown Speedway ran two holiday events. Ray Godsey swept both late model feature events that were ran. In first feature Godsey outran John Gill, Noel Witcher, Paul Crockett and Jim Curry for the victory. In the second main event, he won over Gill, Dusty Chapman, Curry and Doug Ault.

On July 4, 1987, Curry and Godsey would win the twin features that were held. Curry took the first main event over Paul Shafer, Doug Ault, Bob Pierce and Steve Barnett. Godsey made it three wins within 24 hours, taking the second feature over Curry, Lee Fleetwood, Pierce and Shafer.

Mike Fields won the street stock feature 30 years ago at Brownstown. Fields took the checkers over Ray Hughes of North Vernon, Dave Barnett of Columbus, Willie Sallee of Columbus and Joe Johnson of North Vernon. The next night, Joe Johnson won the street stock main event over Larry Harris, Hughes, Tony Ogle of Columbus and Scott Patman.