Hudson O’Neal of Martinsville, a 16-year-old super late models rookie driver, won the fifth annual Paul Crockett Memorial on July 29 to close out the 2017 Jackson County Fair in Brownstown.

O’Neal earned $2,500 for the win. Devin Gilpin of Columbus finished in second in the Don Fleetwood-owned entry, and the winner’s uncle, Marty O’Neal of Spencer, came home in third. Completing the top five were Chad Stapleton of Edinburgh and Adam Bowman of Seymour.

Devin Gilpin won his ninth modifieds feature of the year at Brownstown, taking the win over Matt Boknecht of Seymour, Bradley Sterrett of Bloomington, Jacoby Hines of Nineveh and Jeremy Owens from North Vernon.

Jamey Wilson of Seymour remained the man to beat in the super stock division by racing to the win. Randy Petro of Columbus, in his first appearance of the year at Brownstown, finished in second, followed by Aubrey Eagan of Bedford, Aaron Fields of Seymour and Jason Hehman of Brownstown.

Kevin Applegate of North Vernon won his second pure stock feature of the season, besting Jason Combs of Seymour, Tim Rivers of Salem, John Mayer Jr. of Edinburgh an Derek Clegg of Nabb.

Gilpin remained the driver to beat in the modifieds division. The former track champion roared to his eighth feature win of the season at Brownstown during the Jackson County Fair version of “Thursday Night Thunder” on July 27. Defending track champion Jacoby Hines was second, with Owens taking third. Matt Boknecht came home in fourth, and Chad Combs of Bloomington was fifth.

Marty O’Neal and car owner Larry Hartwell of North Vernon continued their dominance at Brownstown in the Indiana Pro late models division by winning the Jackson County Fair Race. It was the team’s fifth win this season at the track. Skyller Lewis of Brownstown finished second, with Justin Shaw of Whiteland third. Tyler Cain of Seymour was fourth, and Isaac Rainey of Bedford closed out the top five.

Jason Hehman won his second super stocks main event of the year over Aubrey Eagan, Colton Sullivan of Columbus, Aaron Fields and Jamey Wilson.

Donnie Modesty of Seymour remained unbeaten at Brownstown this season by winning the hornets division main event. Chad Taylor of Bloomington was second, and Trent Adams of Elizabethtown was third. Daniel Hobbs of Bloomington and Nathan Reed rounded out the top-five finishers.

Brownstown will host another super late models event tonight with the Iron Man Championship late models in town for a $5,000-to-win event. Also racing will be the Indiana Pro late models, modifieds, super stocks and pure stocks. For more info, visit

Kinser wins at Lawrenceburg

Jordan Kinser of Bedford won the Boss Sprint Car/Jason Soudrette Memorial on July 29 at Lawrenceburg Speedway. Logan Jarrett of Kokomo finished second, followed by Carmen Perigo of Stoystown, Pennsylvania, in third. Drew Abel of North Vernon finished fourth, and Landon Simon of Tipp City, Ohio, completed the top five drivers.

Jeff Deckard of Ellettsville won the modifieds main event at Lawrenceburg over Scottie Williams, Kyle Schornick, David Spille and Joey Kramer.

Other feature winners at Lawrenceburg were Adam Love in the hornets and Joel Andrews in the pure stocks.

Lawrenceburg will be back in action tonight with a regular program. For more info, visit

Short wins at Bloomington

Brady Short of Bedford easily raced to his third sprint-car feature win of the year at Bloomington

Speedway on July 28. It was Short’s 102nd win of his career. He lapped up to the fifth-place finisher. Jeff Bland Jr. of Springville was second, with Thomas Meseraull finishing in third. Ethan Barrow of Unionville was fourth, and Casey Shuman was fifth.

Jamey Wilson was the winner of the street stocks feature race over Steve Peeden of Paragon, Aubrey Eagan, Jack Frye of Bloomington and Levi Ray Godsey of Bedford.

Donnie Modesty won the hornets feature over Jeremy Smith, A.J. Hobbs, Chad Taylor and Felisha Lucas of Edinburgh.

Rod Henning won the Midwest mini-sprint feature over Justin Lewis, Drew Dorsett, Jesse Vermillion and Dave Dorsett.

Bloomington’s next race will be on Aug, 18. For more info, visit

Liberty track hosts sprints

Route 44 Speedway in Liberty hosted the BOSS sprint cars on July 28. Shane Cottle of Kokomo was the event winner over Michael Fishchesser, Cole Ketchum, Justin Owen and Matt Westfall.

Florence hosts biggie next week

Florence Speedway in Union, Kentucky, will host its biggest week of racing this year starting on Thursday with the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series $10,000-to-win event, along with a $1,000-to-win open wheel modified main event. On Friday will be double-heat races for the Lucas Oil Late Models and on Aug. 12 will be the Sunoco North-South 100 late models feature event, paying $50,000 to win. The modifieds will race for a top prize of $2,000 to win. For more info, visit

On July 29, Robbie Hensley won the super late models feature over Steve Landrum, James Rice, Zak Blackwood of Columbus and Trevor Landrum.

Twin Cities racing tonight

After a weekend off, Twin Cities Raceway Park in Vernon will be racing tonight with a full program of crate late models, modifieds, super stocks, pure stocks, and hornets. For more info, visit

This week in racing history

From this weekend 50 years ago in 1967, Butch Wilkerson of Columbus won the supermodifieds feature race at Bloomington Speedway. Ira Bastin finished in second followed by Don Burroughs, Kenny Ferrand and Don Hobbs.

From 40 years ago in 1977, Dick Gaines won the sprint-car feature at Paragon Speedway over Larry Miller, Chet Johnson, Jack Zeigler and Larry Gates.

From 1987, Randy Kinser won the sprint-car feature at Bloomington Speedway over Jeff Gordon, Joe Gaerte, Bobby Adkins and Ron Milton. Terry Arthur won the companion street stock feature.

Also from 1987, Lee Fleetwood won the late models main event at Twin Cities over Mike Gibbs, Jim Patterson of North Vernon, Jim Ruddick and Don O’Neal.

Rolla Millspaugh won the street stocks feature at Twin Cities over North Vernon drivers Taulby Donnell, Mark Clark, Danny Redding and Buddy Franks.

At Brownstown 30 years ago, Ray Godsey won the late models feature. Greg Ault finished in second, followed by his brother Doug Godsey in third. Paul Shafer and Jim Curry completed the top five.

Larry Harris won the street stocks feature at Brownstown on the same night, with Mike Fields finishing in second and Steve Kimberlin taking third. The rest of the top five were Joe Johnson of North Vernon and Mark Arthur.