National Dirt Late Model Hall-of-Famer Billy Moyer captured the Earl Baltes Classic on Sunday at Tony Stewart’s Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio.

Moyer, the only six-time winner of the World 100, is one of the pre-race favorites heading into Saturday night’s $50,000-to-win event. Dale McDowell finished second to Moyer on Sunday, with Kent Robinson of Bloomington, Jason Feger and Rusty Schlenk completing the top five drivers.

Jon Henry won the modifieds feature at Eldora over Jacob Hawkins, Josh Rice, Ryan Sutter and Brian Ruhlman.

Saturday at Eldora will be the 47th annual World 100, the most prestigious race for dirt late models. There will be six heat races, two B-mains and the 100-lap feature paying a record $50,000 to win. For more info, log on to The race will be broadcast live on a pay-per-view basis at and

Mahoney wins Twin Cities special

Cody Mahoney of Madison drove a C.J. Rayburn racecar late model to victory in the Ted Collins Memorial Race on Sunday at Twin Cities Raceway Park in Vernon. Jeff Wilson of Butlerville was second, with Jared Bailey of Bedford coming home in third. Skyller Lewis of Brownstown was fourth and Joe Brewer of Batavia, Ohio, was fifth.

Veteran driver Tim Clark returned to Victory Lane, winning the pure stocks feature. Seth Hull of Versailles was second, with Mikey Callahan of Indianapolis, Daniel Hupp of Scipio and Bobby Burleson of Hamilton, Ohio, rounding out the top five drivers.

Donnie Modesty of Seymour remained the hottest driver in the area, winning the hornets division feature race. For the second night in a row, Modesty edged out Jacob Owens of North Vernon for the win. Cody Perry of North Vernon was third, with Steven Hoffman of Owenton, Kentucky, and Tony Napier Sr. of North Vernon trailing at the finish line.

There were two UMRA King of the TQ Midget features ran. One was a rainout makeup from earlier in the season, and that one was won by Jason Goff of Fortville. Robbie Roland finished second, with Matthew Hedrick taking third. Callie Wolsiffer and Kirby Petry completed the top five in the makeup main.

Columbus’ Jason Setser, the defending series champion, won the regularly scheduled feature over Rick Robinson of Columbus, Roland, Hedrick and Elijah Setser of Columbus.

Twin Cities will be back in action tonight with a full slate of crate late models, modifieds, super stocks, pure stocks and hornets. For more info, visit

Sullivan wins again at Brownstown

Colton Sullivan of Columbus won his third super stocks feature of the year Saturday at Brownstown Speedway. It was Sullivan’s fourth win overall this season. His car is sponsored by Black Widow Fabrication, The Brick of Jonesville, J.P. Slick, Hair in Motion and B&M Salvage. He is the grandson of former racer Dave Barnett of Columbus.

Jason Hehman of Brownstown was second to Sullivan, with points leader Jamey Wilson of Seymour taking third. The rest of the top-five finishers were Jack Frye of Bloomington and Steve Hollars of Bloomington.

Brandon Reed of Edinburgh won his first career modifieds feature driving a car owned by Brian and Leslie Corbin of Columbus and sponsored by Bloomington Pediatric Dentistry, Dirt Track Specialties, Outdoor Services, WAR Shocks and Suspension, KBC Graphics, Warrior Racing Engines, Diamond Race Cars and Wehrs Machine.

Reed held off Tim Prince of Heltonville for the win. Austin Burton of Edinburgh came home in third, followed by Roy Bruce Jr. of Bloomington and Cliff Tooley of Evansville.

Hudson O’Neal of Martinsville drove the Isaac Rainey Indiana Pro late model to victory in the 25-lap feature for that division. Tyler Cain of Seymour was second, with Shelby Miles of Bloomington crossing the line in third. Chad Stapleton of Edinburgh and Marty O’Neal of Spencer rounded out the top five.

Donnie Modesty of Seymour made it 4 for 4 this season in the hornets division, remaining unbeaten this year at Brownstown. It took Modesty until the final lap to pass race leader Jacob Owens of North Vernon for the top spot. Owens was second, with Chad Taylor of Bloomington, Daniel Hobbs of Springville and Trent Adams of Elizabethtown trailing.

Tim Rivers of Salem raced to his sixth pure stocks win of the year in a highly competitive race with Vallonia’s Ronnie Pardue. Jason Combs of Seymour was third, with Larry Stone of Flat Rock posting a career-best fourth-place finish and Mark Smith of Franklin was fifth.

Brownstown will be idle tonight with no racing scheduled. Racing will return Sept. 16 with a tuneup for the following week’s Jackson 100. On the schedule will be super late models, Indiana Pro late models, modifieds, super stocks and pure stocks. For more info, visit

Swanson wins Silver Crown in Illinois

Kody Swanson won the Ted Horn 100 on Sunday 3 for the USAC Silver Crown Series at the DuQuoin State Fairgrounds in Du Quoin, Illinois. Swanson took the win over a stout 35-car field. Shane Cockrum finished in second, with Jeff Swindell taking third. Completing the top five were C.J. Leary and Jerry Coons Jr. Joss Moffatt of Columbus finished 18th in final rundown.

This week in racing history

From 50 years ago in 1967, Danny Bowlen won the supermodifieds feature at Bloomington Speedway over Don Nordhorn, Cecil Beavers, Butch Wilkerson of Columbus and Calvin Gilstrap.

From 40 years ago in 1977, Powell Ballard of Columbus won the hobby stock feature race at Twin Cities over Phil Fultz of Clifford, Dee Kramer, Russ Petro of Columbus and Steve Trabue.

Also from 1977, Bob Fleetwood won the late model feature at Brownstown. John Davis finished second, with Dennis Boknecht taking third. Tony Moore took the hobby stock main over Dusty Chapman and Chuck Gilpin of Columbus.

From 30 years ago in 1987, Kevin Huntley won the sprint-car feature at Bloomington. Kevin Briscoe was second, with Jeff Gordon placing third. Pete Abel of Columbus was fourth ahead of Randy Kinser in fifth. Larry Harris won the street stock feature.

Also from 1987, Ray Godsey won the late model feature at Twin Cities. Dill Whittymore was second, with Mike Gibbs, Russ Petro and Daryl Herbert completing the top five.

Rolla Millspaugh was the winner of the street stock feature event. Joe Johnson of North Vernon was second, with Jeff Daugherty, Mark Bruce and Terrence Johnson rounding out the top five drivers.

From Brownstown in 1987, Columbus’ Bob Johnson won the bomber feature race over Dave Kerr, Ray Hughes of North Vernon, Jeff Hehman and Jack Brown.