University News – September 11

University news

Ivy Tech Chancellor announces statewide cabinet members

Ivy Tech Community College Chancellor Steven Combs has named a cabinet as part of the college’s statewide organizational restructuring.

The cabinet will guide campus decision-making, development and day-to-day operations relative to academic affairs, enrollment, student success, workforce alignment, community-based locations and foundation resources.

Cabinet members include:

•Jo Ann Hallawell, vice chancellor for academic affairs, who was serving as the dean of the university transfer division and an English professor. She will continue to serve as the dean of the School of Arts, Sciences and Education.

•Heather Baker, vice chancellor for student success, who has served as vice chancellor of student affairs for the former Columbus/Southeast region since she began her career at Ivy Tech in January 2015.

•Randy Proffitt, vice chancellor for enrollment services. He began his career in marketing at Ivy Tech in 1995 and has served as executive director of marketing for the Columbus/Southeast region.

•Stephanie Ebbing, Director for K-14 Initiatives, serving in this role since beginning her career at Ivy tech in August 2016.

•Trunnis Goggins, Workforce Development consultant, Goggins has served as an assistant professor and department chair in the business school.

•Erica Speer, site director, who has served as site manager for locations in North Vernon, Greensburg and Seymour since October 2015.

•Therese Copeland, executive director of development, who has served in this position since 2012.

•Marla Goodnight, executive assistant, who has served as the administrative assistant to the former Columbus campus president and the vice chancellor of academic affairs.

The appointments take effect Sept. 15.

Columbus resident receives USI scholarship

Columbus resident Adam Zhuang has been named as a recipient of an Ethel Reed endowed baccalaureate/doctor of medicine scholarship at the University of Southern Indiana. The full-tuition scholarships are awarded to exceptional high school students who meet similar academic requirements to those of Presidential Scholars.

The program offers a provisional seat in the Indiana University School of Medicine to each individual. Zhuang, who graduated from Columbus North High School, plans to study biology in the Pott College of Science, Engineering and Education.

Internships available for 2018 legislative session

INDIANAPOLIS — Indiana House Republicans are accepting internship applications for the 2018 legislative session.

State Rep. Sean Eberhart, R-Shelbyville, said the internship program is a unique opportunity to participate in state government at the Statehouse while gaining valuable workforce skills. The paid program during the spring semester gives college students the chance to work one-on-one with state legislators while seeing first hand how laws are made.

Internships are open to college sophomores, juniors, seniors and graduate students and recent graduates of all majors. Students may apply for internships in a variety of areas, focusing on legislative, communications, policy, fiscal policy and technology. The internships are full-time positions, Monday through Friday, lasting from January to mid-March.

In addition to being paid $750 every two weeks, students may earn academic credit through their college or university and are eligible to apply for a competitive $3,000 scholarship to use toward undergraduate or graduate expenses.

For more information about the internship program or to apply, visit Application deadline is Oct. 31.

Author photo
Matt Kent is a reporter for The Republic. He can be reached at 812-379-5712 or