FIrst-year councilman picked to lead Hope

Hope town hall
File photo of Hope Town Hall

HOPE, Indiana — A town official who took public office for the first time in January will become the highest ranking elected leader in Hope.

By a 3-2 vote, Ed Johnson was elected president of the Hope Town Council for next year. The council serves as the legislative and executive branches of government for the community of 2,100 residents.

Normally, the five-member council waits until the first work session of a new year to select new officers, Town Clerk Diane Burton said.

But during its final public meeting of this year, Nellie Meek made a motion Tuesday that Johnson succeed Clyde Compton in the leadership position that Compton has held for the past two years.

After her motion was seconded by Ohmer Miller, Compton said he could not support Johnson as his successor due to a lack of legislative experience.


When the vote was taken, Meek and Miller voted in favor of Johnson’s nomination, while Compton and Jerry Bragg voted against it.

The deciding vote was cast by Johnson himself, who voted in favor of his nomination. Bragg was unanimously chosen to serve as vice president.

See Friday’s print edition for more information.

Author photo
Mark Webber is a reporter for The Republic. He can be reached at or 812-379-5636.