University News – January 15

University news

Students named to dean’s lists

The following students have been named to the dean’s list at their respective universities:

University of Evansville: Zacharia Johnson, a finance major from Columbus; Marisa Biehle, an exercise science major from North Vernon and Anna McGriff, North Vernon, who is studying biochemistry

University of Memphis: Jason Kimmet, Columbus; Faith Myers, Elizabethtown.

Ball State University:

Columbus: Maddie Albright, Caraline Andros, Benjamin Baker, Kaitlyn Barnes, Elizabeth Becker, Victoria Bell, Miranda Blevins, Bobbie Burton, Noah Clack, Delaney Coles, Gabriela Czereszko, Meredith Dickerson, Lexi Dykes, Mariann Fant, Jay Fields, Makenzie Gilliam, Sarah Gloeckner, Seena Greiwe, Paige Grider, Kathleen Haegele, Briana Hale, Joshua Hatton, Kiersten Henderson, Alex Hill, Alex Joslin, Betsy Kiel, Jacob Landini, Zack Laughlin, Sam McQueen, Brandy Mijares, Katelyn Novak, LeAnne Oliver, Rachel Ollestad, Brian Pierson, Katie Prall, Braeden Raymer, Tayler Seymour, Gabby Sims, Bailey Sipes, Michael VanDeventer, Isaac Walling, Casey Weisner, Cianna Wright

Hope: Abbey Ashbrook, Alex Ashbrook, Noah Czereszko, Brooke Stafford

Elizabethtown: Marcella Rose Whipker

Scipio: Morgan Grant

Paris Crossing: Carissa Kinney

North Vernon: Colton Large, Celeste Noel, Blane Owen, Ally Posey, Thea Purdue


Nomination deadline for Folger award today

The nomination deadline for the 2018 Edna V. Folger Outstanding Teacher award is today.

Any full-time elementary or secondary school teacher or educator working in a public, private or parochial school in Bartholomew County is eligible to receive the award. Classroom or special education teachers, in addition to certified educators, counselors, counselors and administrators are eligible.

Nominations, which can be made by an individual or a group, should include biographical information, reasons for nomination, letters of recommendation and support materials.

Nomination instructions can be found by visiting the IUPUC Center for Teaching and Learning, the Bartholomew Consolidated School Corp. administration office and in the main office of schools in Bartholomew County.

Nomination forms can be found at The deadline for nominations is 4 p.m. today.

The award will be presented at the Columbus Area Chamber of Commerce’s annual meeting March 28. For more information, call Marsha VanNahmen at 812-375-7576 or e-mail

Author photo
Matt Kent is a reporter for The Republic. He can be reached at 812-379-5712 or