the republic logo

WNBA releases schedule with 10 teams opening play on June 5


NEW YORK — Diana Taurasi, Brittney Griner and the rest of the champion Phoenix Mercury highlight the opening night of the WNBA on June 5 when the league's 19th season tips off.

The Mercury will face the San Antonio Stars and receive their 2014 championship rings before the game. Defending Eastern Conference champion Chicago will host Indiana, marking the debut of new coach Stephanie White.

The Sky and Mercury will face each other on July 28 in a rematch of last season's WNBA Finals. The two teams will play again on Aug. 9.

The season tips off three weeks later than last year because there is no world championship or Olympics.

ESPN will air 11 games during the regular season and cap off the year with extensive coverage of the playoffs.

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

Story copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Feedback, Corrections and Other Requests: AP welcomes feedback and comments from readers. Send an email to and it will be forwarded to the appropriate editor or reporter.

We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)


Follow The Republic:

All content copyright ©2014 The Republic, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.