the republic logo

Star-studded field: Contador, Froome, Nibali and Quintana enter upcoming Tirreno race


MILAN — Organizers for the upcoming Tirreno-Adriatico race have announced a star-studded field featuring Grand Tour winners Alberto Contador, Chris Froome, Vincenzo Nibali and Nairo Quintana.

It will be the first time that the four riders with 10 Grand Tour wins between them have competed together in a World Tour stage race.

The 50th edition of the race across central Italy runs March 11-17.

Contador is the defending Tirreno champion, Nibali won in 2012 and 2013, Froome was runner-up in 2012 and Quintana finished second last year.

The Tirreno starts with a team time trial, includes a serious mountain stage, and finishes with a 10-kilometer (6.2-mile) individual time trial.

Nibali, last year's Tour de France champion, races for Astana, which appears set to lose its license following a series of doping cases.

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

Story copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Feedback, Corrections and Other Requests: AP welcomes feedback and comments from readers. Send an email to and it will be forwarded to the appropriate editor or reporter.

We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)


Follow The Republic:

All content copyright ©2015 The Republic, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.