What’s Your Workout: Chris Springmeyer

Briefly describe your daily/weekly workout routine:

I do a regimen involving my chest, shoulders, triceps, biceps, back and traps (trapezius). I don’t do much cardio because I want to gain mostly muscle. I started running for a while, but I found it was hard on my knees. My joints were telling me to quit that. Also, sometimes I get other exercise when I cut firewood.

What inspired you to begin a regular fitness routine? I

bent over one day in 2004 to tie my shoe and I realized it was hard to breathe. I decided right then it was time for a change. Now, I just want to be in shape and have enough lean muscle.

Why is it something you have stuck with?

After a few months, it became not an activity, but a lifestyle. It’s not just a quick-fix thing. And the longer I’ve done it, the easier it has become to stick with it. Once you quit having goals, you quit. So I still have goals. I want to get better in every way, including being a better husband, a better Dad, a better employee.

How is staying in shape a challenge for you?

I think the winter’s kind of tough on everybody, partly because it’s harder to be able to go outside and do things.

What do you on the days you don’t feel motivated to go the gym?

Generally, I never miss. I don’t skip. If for some reason I have to miss, I really feel like I’ve missed something.

Have you lost weight or gained muscle mass through working out? How much?

I lost 65 pounds since I started working out regularly — and gained muscle, but I haven’t measured how much. I just pay attention to how my clothes fit.

Do you follow any special diet or eating plan? If so, describe briefly. Do you “cheat” much?

I don’t pay much attention to any of that. I try to eat good protein — usually a lot of fish and chicken, along with vegetables like broccoli and cauliflower. I tried the Atkins diet once, but I was really mad by only the third day. My wife and I mainly have cut back on our meal portions. We still eat pizza, but now it’s just two pieces instead of four. And when we eat out at a restaurant, instead of getting two separate orders, we usually split one meal.

What advice would you give someone who wants to begin working out?

They should realize that they’re going to need some help and resources.

— Compiled by staff writer Brian Blair

[sc:pullout-title pullout-title=”Chris Springmeyer” ][sc:pullout-text-begin]

Age: 44.

City: Greensburg.

Occupation: Firefighter.

Family: Wife, Denise; son, Brantley, 15; daughter, Bailey, 12.

Where you work out: Anytime Fitness.

Hours per week: Five to six.