Lilly Endownment awards creativity fellowships

The Lilly Endowment has announced the winners of its Teacher Creativity Fellowships, with 100 teachers receiving a $10,000 grant to support a summer project.

Recipients represent a wide range of schools across Indiana, traditional public schools, charter schools and private schools, including religiously affiliated and independent schools.

Recipients include:


Columbus East High School, Aaron J. Lynott, “Giants of Biology: Following in the Paths of Charles Darwin and Whale Sharks,” visiting the Galapagos Islands to observe whale sharks and study Darwin and biodiversity.

Columbus North High School, Katherine E. Stahl, “Extended Exchange: A Language Learning Odyssey,” enroll in a five-week German language course in Munster, Germany.

Columbus Signature Academy, Fodrea campus, Suzanne C. Diehn, “The Art of Glass” — investigate the work of Dale Chihuly, participate in art glass classes in Washington and Italy.

Northside Middle School, Columbus, Gail N. Robison-Heredia, “Eating My Way Through Mexico,” exploring authentic Mexican cooking in four regions of Mexico and creating a cookbook of authentic dishes.


Edinburgh High School, Trent E. Shupperd, “Roamin’ Roman Roads and Cruisin’ Caminos,” researching linguistic and religious influences of roads and caminos in southern Europe (Italy, France, Spain and Portugal).

[sc:pullout-title pullout-title=”About Lilly Endowment” ][sc:pullout-text-begin]

Lilly Endowment Inc. is an Indianapolis-based private foundation that supports the causes of community development, education and religion. In keeping with the founders’ wishes, the endowment maintains a special commitment to its hometown, Indianapolis, and home state, Indiana.

More information:

[sc:pullout-text-end][sc:pullout-title pullout-title=”About the Lilly Endowment Teacher Creativity Fellowships” ][sc:pullout-text-begin]

Including the 2015 class, more than 2,700 Indiana educators have received Lilly Endowment Teacher Creativity Fellowships since the program began in 1987. About 500 educators applied for this year’s round of $10,000 awards.