Jennings wrestlers dominate meet

Jennings County crowned seven champions at the Tri-County Individual Middle School Championships that featured teams from Jennings County, Central, Northside and Seymour.

Nick South became Jennings County’s first three-time champion, while Hunter Dickmeyer and Brooks Wathen won their second Tri-County titles. Also winning titles for Jennings County were Keegan Craig, Rusty Vaughn, Damon Burton and Brandon McGuire.

Placing second for Jennings County were Teagen Johnson, Michael Pemberton, Blake Skinner, Owen Barr, Trenton Stuckwisch, Lynn Bateman, Rodger Watts, Michael Austerman, Quinton Houshour and Nathaniel McDonald.

Finishing third were Dathan Malone, Takota Grigsby, Zane Law, Joey Moran, Justin Brogdon and Sammy Bennett. Blake Hardesty, Jonah Walters, Mason Coffey and Blake Daugherty were fourth.

Morgan Smith, Jake Schoenogge and Cayden Rooks all won individual championships for Northside. Braeden Berger placed second, and Jarod Baker, Hugo Buenrostro and Eli Heichelbach finished third.

In other wresting news, Jennings County finished its Tri-County dual-meet season unbeaten with a 69-41 win against Central. It was the Panthers’ ninth Tri-County title in the past 10 years.

Rusty Vaughn, Nick South and Brooks Wathen finished the season unbeaten for Jennings County.

Earning wins against Central were Malone, Johnson, Craig, Grigsby, Moran, Vaugh, Skinner, South, Stuckwisch, Dickmeyer, Wathen, Burton, Houshour and McGuire. Earning reserve wins were Ronnie Pemberton, Kyle Nugent, Ethan Mathews, Crayton Morrison and Jake Coffman.


More high local scores

Richard Baldwin recorded a 279 for the high game in Wednesday Night Mixed play at the Columbus Bowling Center.

Charles Roberts was second at 278, while Steve Phillips rolled a 247. Baldwin had the top series of 734, while Clint Million rolled a 698 and Phillips had a 680.

Sarah Jessup had the women’s high game with a 214, followed by Bonnie Roberts at 193 and Katie Jessup at 192. Katie Jessup shot the high series with a 570, followed by Judy Anderson at 539 and Sarah Jessup at 532.

Bush’s Market had the high team game at 909, while P.J.’s rolled the high team series of 2,782. Aces & 8s lead the standings at 130-78, followed by P.J.’s at 126-82 and Ramm Rods at 124-84.

In Sunday Night Mixed action, Jeremy Whittington shot the high game of 242, followed by Luther Johnson at 234 and Henry Schulz III at 226. Whittington also had the high series of 668, while Johnson rolled a 636 and Toby Burton had a 628.

Joy Wilson had the high women’s game of 200, followed by Nikki Lynn and Lori Simpson at 193. Shanna Wilson had the high series of 536, while Lynn shot 531 and Ashlynn Branum rolled a 520.

In Senior Men’s League results, Steve Phillips had the high game of 243, followed by Joe Heldt at 234, Vern Phillips at 225, Dave Mikels at 223 and Everett Herron at 221.

Steve Phillips had the high series of 663, followed by Vern Phillips at 642 and Dave Taylor at 629.

The Pumas rolled the high handicap series of 2,918 and lead the standings at 118-82, followed by the Tigers at 108-92 and the Cougars at 106-94.

In Thursday Ladies Matinee action, Lu Kinman had the high series of 438, followed by Leda Dean at 415 and Carolyn Burton at 413. Burton had the high game of 169, followed by Kinman at 160 and Dean at 159.

In Monday Church League action, Steve Phillips rolled 649 to record the high series, followed by John Zieleniuk at 643, Charles Sims at 633, Chris Davis at 626, Jim Fields at 617, Mike VanWhy at 609, Caleb Loper at 608, Allen Smith at 603, Nate Arnholt at 598 and Steve Shroyer at 593.

Nashville Christian leads the standings, followed by Grayford Road, First Presbyterian, East Columbus and Petersville UMC.


Rock Pile wins tourney

Although The Rock Pile fell behind early, it surged back to win the Broomball Tournament championship with a 4-1 victory against Monsters of Rock.

Zach Henderson put Monsters of Rock on the board with the first goal, but then The Rock Pile scored the next four goals, two by Derek Wolf and one each by Tyler Douthitt and Stephanie Pigneri.

Flying Zambonis won the consolation championship with a 3-0 advantage in a shoot-out against Yoopers. The teams were tied 2-2 after regulation.

Bryan Plunkett scored both Flying Zambonis goals, while Ryan Seifring and Kha Vu scored the Yoopers goals.