Local high-schoolers named National Merit semifinalists

The National Merit Scholarship Corp. has announced about 16,000 semifinalists in its annual scholarship program, including several from Bartholomew County.

The scholarship corporation is a nonprofit established in 1955 to oversee the National Merit Scholarship program.

Scholarships are underwritten by the organization and by about 440 business organizations and universities across the nation.

About 1.5 million high school juniors in more than 22,000 high schools enter the program by taking the 2014 PSAT qualifying test, which is the initial screen for entrants.

From the estimated 16,000 semifinalists, about 15,000 will advance to the finalist level, with results announced in February.

All National Merit scholarship winners are selected from the finalists.

Semifinalists from the area include:

Columbus East High School: Maelyn R. Kiser, Kendal G. Webb

Columbus North High School: Zoe Arbuckle, Tiger Fu, Tyler J. Heathcote, Kevin Luo, Aditya Mantri, Maclane D. Speer, Eva Yezerets

[sc:pullout-title pullout-title=”What’s next” ][sc:pullout-text-begin]

All National Merit scholarship winners will be selected from a group of finalists who will be announced in February.

Three types of National Merit scholarships are offered in spring, 2016.

They include:

National Merit $2,500 Scholarships, awarded on a state basis

An estimated 1,000 corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards are also planned

About 190 colleges and universities will sponsor about 3,900 college-sponsored Merit Scholarships.

[sc:pullout-text-end][sc:pullout-title pullout-title=”For more information” ][sc:pullout-text-begin]

Visit nationalmerit.org