What’s Your Workout: Usha Hebbar

» Briefly describe your daily/weekly workout routine.

About an hour or more of yoga per day, normally about 8 or 9 in the morning, plus meditation. Yoga is for the body. Meditation is for the mind.

» What inspired you to begin doing yoga?

I began doing it at age 18. I’d grown up around it and had seen my parents, other relatives and friends doing it.

[sc:text-divider text-divider-title=”Story continues below gallery” ]

» What do you like best about yoga?

I like the whole process — the relaxation, the calm, the peace and the sense of well-being.

» How do you make time to work out?

It simply is part of my daily morning routine. It’s not that I have to do it. But I want to do it. You know, you don’t decide some mornings not to brush your teeth. I do it because it is a part of me.

» Do you listen to music during your workout? If so, what’s on your playlist?

No, not during yoga. I will use music during meditation. But yoga is about focusing on the breath and being quiet and aware of all that is happening within you.

» Do you follow any special diet or eating plan?

I am a vegetarian. I have been doing that forever. And there are plenty of options here for vegetarians. Even the restaurants offer a lot of good options. I have never had problems finding them.

» Do you have a favorite fitness moment, or a favorite achievement? What about all the people you have taught in yoga or breathing-to-beat stress classes?

I definitely do not feel like I have achieved anything (laughter). And I cannot take credit for anything. A lot of these things just happened.

» What do you do to motivate yourself when you just don’t want to work out?

I don’t really have to motivate myself. It is a daily habit now. I just do it. If I am really busy, I will miss. But a real habit never really goes away. It is part of my regular routine. But that took several years.

» What do you do on the days you just feel down — and you’re scheduled to lead a class?

I can honestly say I’ve never really felt very down. It takes a lot to make me feel down. But I did used to get angry a lot when I was growing up. You do have to put forth some effort initially.

[sc:pullout-title pullout-title=”About Usha Hebbar” ][sc:pullout-text-begin]

Age: 48.

City: Columbus.

Hometown: Bangalore, India.

Occupation: Owner and audiologist at Seymour’s Complete Ear Care.

Family: Husband Raja, son Vivek Hebbar.

Where you work out: At home with yoga and also while leading yoga classes at various places in Columbus, including the fourth Saturday of every month at Columbus’ Faith Ministries, 5103 W. Indiana 46.

Hours per week: Seven or more.