Australian Madsen doubles up at Eldora

Tony Stewart’s Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio, hosted the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Cars and the AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Cars on May 6 and 7.

Australian racer Kerry Madsen made the most of his opportunities, as he swept both nights in the WoO Sprints. Those were Madsen’s first series wins since August of last year.

Chad Kemenah finished second to Madsen both nights.

On Friday night, Madsen topped Kemenah, David Gravel, Daryn Pittman and Kraig Kinser for the win. On Saturday, it was Madsen and Kemenah finishing 1-2 again, followed by Pittman, Gravel and Shane Stewart.

Current World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Championship points standings: 1. Brad Sweet 3,219; 2. Donny Schatz 3,122; 3. Shane Stewart 3,118; 4. Daryn Pittman 3,117; 5. Joe Saldana 3,071.

On the USAC side of the ledger, Bryan Clauson and Chad Boespflug both scored their first career USAC/Eldora Sprint Car triumphs. On Friday, Clauson notched the 37th USAC Sprint Car victory of his career and his first at the half-mile oval. Boespflug’s win on Saturday was his first at Eldora and the second of his career.

On Friday night, Clauson — a 2-time starter in the Indianapolis 500 who is entered for the 100th running of the event on May 29 — topped C.J. Leary, Thomas Meseraull, Dallas Hewitt and Brady Bacon for the win. On Saturday night, trailing Boespflug to the finish line were Bacon, Meseraull, Leary and Tyler Courtney.

The next AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Series events will be on May 20 at Gas City I-69 Speedway in Gas City and May 21 at Brownstown Speedway in Brownstown.

Current AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Series Championship points standings: 1. Thomas Meseraull 590; 2. Brady Bacon 585; 3. Chase Stockon 569; 4. Kyle Cummins 512; 5. Dave Darland 507.

Andretti gets first career win

Jarett Andretti, son of former NASCAR and IndyCar racer John Andretti and great nephew of the legendary Mario Andretti, won his first career Sprint Car feature on May 7 at the Lawrenceburg Speedway.

Andretti took the lead with three laps to go from Dickie Gaines and went on to record the milestone win. Gaines was second, followed by Drew Abel of North Vernon, Jake Scott and Braxton Cummings.

Joey Kramer won the Modified feature at Lawrenceburg. He was followed by Kyle Herbert, Scotty Kincaid, David Spille and Matt Hamilton.

Other winners at Lawrenceburg included J.D. Largent (Pure Stocks) and Tim Baird (Hornets).

Lawrenceburg will be back in action tonight with a King of the Midwest Sprint Car Special paying $2,500 to win. Also on the race card are Modifieds, Pure Stocks and Hornets.

Indiana Pro Late Models at Chandler

The Indiana Pro Late Models made the first of two appearances this season at Chandler Motor Speedway in Chandler on May 6. Hudson O’Neal of Martinsville came home the winner over Raymond Humphrey, Marty O’Neal, Steven Godsey and Tyler Cain.

Brownstown rained out again

The Brownstown Speedway saw a full pit area of 136 race cars on May 7, but late-afternoon rains delayed the start of the racing action and returned during the race program, forcing track officials to postpone the Scott Patman Memorial special for Super Stocks until May 28.

There will be a complete new program that night. Rainchecks from May 7 must be used for May 28 or the June 18 race program. Brownstown is off tonight.

Paragon starts season tonight

The Paragon Speedway in Paragon will kick off its 2016 racing season tonight. On the schedule will be Non-Wing Sprints, Super Stocks, Bombers, Pure Stocks and Hornets. For more info, go to

This week in racing history

In 1986, John Warner of Columbus won the Late Model feature at Twin Cities. Darrell Smallwood and Roger Sullivan, both of Columbus, trailed Warner to the finish line. Daryl Herbert was fourth, followed by Robert Brison of North Vernon.

In the Street Stock division at Twin Cities, Dennis Barber of North Vernon won the feature event over Mark Bruce, Jeff Wilson, Don Walp and Buddy Franks of North Vernon.

Also 30 years ago, Steve Barnett of Franklin won the Late Model feature at Brownstown. Ray Godsey was second, followed by Paul Shafer, Lee Fleetwood and Dennis Boknecht.

Steve Trabue won the Modified Street Stock main at Brownstown over Doc Jewell, Earl Plessinger, Mark Bechelli of Elizabethtown and Joe Wilson.

In 1969, Orville Yeadon won his second consecutive Supermodified feature at Twin Cities. Allen Barr of Columbus was second, followed by Bobby Black of Taylorsville, Phil Fultz of Clifford and Mike Mosley.

The same weekend in 1969, Larry Miller won the Sprint Car feature at Sweet Owen Speedway in Spencer. Butch Wilkerson of Columbus was second, followed by Richard Jackson and Calvin Gilstrap. Meanwhile, Allen Barr of Columbus won the Sprint Car feature at Paragon Speedway.