University News – May 30

Columbus student makes dean’s list

Jon Austin Huffer, of Columbus, made the dean’s list at Hope College in Michigan. To be named to the dean’s list, students must have at least a 3.5 grade-point average on 4.0 scale.

Huffer is the son of Jon and Melinda Huffer of Columbus.

Local residents graduate from Evansville

Four area students graduated from the University of Evansville on May 7. They were:

•Caitriona Hill, of Columbus, Bachelor of Science in neuroscience

•Laurel Wolfe, of Columbus, Bachelor of Science in psychology

•William McNicholas, of North Vernon, Bachelor of Science in mechanical engineering

•Sara Johnson, of Seymour, doctor of physical therapy

Student honored in art competition

Joni Montgomery, of Columbus, was awarded an honorable mention for her sculpture in the University of Findlay’s Juried Student Art and Design Exhibition.

Any student of the university could submit artwork to be considered. Other categories included painting, drawing, ceramics and photography.

Native graduates from Manchester

Caniece Leggett, of Columbus, graduated May 14 from Manchester University with a degree in psychology. She has been accepted into the master of occupational therapy program at the University of Illinois Chicago.

She offered the benediction during the commencement ceremony, and also won multiple awards. They were:

•The Capstone Outstanding Senior Leadership Award, which recognizes a student who has contributed significantly to the quality of campus life.

•Volunteer service awards.

•The Luminescence Award, the highest award a student can receive from the Office of Multicultural Affairs, and given to students who demonstrate the highest moral and ethical character, coupled with demonstrated academic achievement and community involvement.

•A Scholastic Achievement Award, which is earned by members of the Manchester community associated with the Office of Multicultural Affairs who will graduate with a grade-point average of at least a 3.0 and have made significant contributions to the multicultural community

The Member of the Year award from the Student Government Association for her involvement the Black Student Union.

Wildemann recognized by Wittenberg

Karen Wildemann, of Columbus, was recognized at the annual Wittenberg University Honors Convocation for academic achievement and membership in Alpha Lambda Delta, an honors society.

Resident earns bachelor’s degree

Jeremy Robert Minor, of Columbus, earned his Bachelor of Arts degree in political science from Wabash College on May 15.

Minor is the son of Tammy and Roger Watters, of Columbus.

Scholarships available

The Indiana Homeland Security Foundation is accepting applications for the Secure Indiana Scholarship Program. The deadline to apply is July 15.

Thirteen scholarships are available to reward Hoosiers who volunteer with public safety organizations. Scholarships are funded through the sale of “Secure Indiana” license plates and are made available to both full-time and part-time college students.

Eligible applicants must meet the following requirements:

Attend or will be attending an accredited Indiana college

Must have at least a 2.8 grade-point average on a 4.0 scale

Volunteer with a public safety organization, such as a fire department, emergency management agency, law enforcement agency or emergency medical services. This must be validated by the agency’s chief executive.

A full-time student with at least 12 credit hours is eligible for a $2,000 scholarship and a part-time student with at least six credit hours is eligible for a $1,000 scholarship.

Those who are interested in submitting an application can contact the Indiana Department of Homeland Security Grants Management at [email protected]. For more information on the Indiana Homeland Security Foundation, visit