Edinburgh racers go the distance

Chad Stapleton and Joe Godsey, both of Edinburgh, scored Late Model feature wins last weekend at out-of-state tracks.

On June 17, Stapleton scored the win at Moler Raceway Park in Williamsburg, Ohio. A day later, Godsey took the main event at Florence Speedway in Union, Kentucky. Godsey drives for Columbus native Steve Vawter.

Locals win at Bloomington

Devin Gilpin of Columbus, John Mayer Jr. of Edinburgh and Jaden Mayhan of Elizabethtown took feature wins at Bloomington Speedway on June 17.

Gilpin won the UMP Modified feature over Ryan Thomas of Seymour, Josh Harris of Bedford and Bloomington racers John DeMoss and Jordan Wever.

Mayer was the victor of the first of two Hornet feature races. Mayhan finished second in the first main event, followed by Davey Waggoner of North Vernon, Lee Wright of Bloomington and James Lane of Bloomington.

The second feature of the night for the Hornets saw Mayhan take his first career main event win. Mayhan’s car is sponsored by Drain Master, Victory Circles, Wedan’s Street and Performance, Paul’s Columbus Auto Salvage and Expressions Ink Tattoo and Body Piercings.

Steve Hollars of Bloomington won the Super Stock Feature. Josh Boller was second, followed by Steve Hawkins, Jamey Wilson and Aubrey Eagin.

Bloomington’s next event will be July 1 with 410 Non-Wing Sprints, Modifieds, RaceSaver Sprints and Super Stocks. For more info, visit bloomingtonspeedway.com.

Brownstown hosts large field

Veteran Steve Barnett of Franklin won the Indiana Pro Late Model Feature on June 18 at Brownstown Speedway for his first win of the season. Hudson O’Neal of Martinsville, who started 19th, made his way to the second finishing position at the end. Remington Gill of Mitchell was third, followed by Matt Boknecht of Seymour and Shelby Miles of Bloomington.

Gilpin won the Modified feature at Brownstown. Victor Lee of Danville, Kentucky, was second followed by Derek Groomer of Bloomington, Jacoby Hines of Nineveh and Jason Thomas of Avon.

Jamey Wilson won the Super Stock main event. Rookie Greg Garrison of Bloomington placed second, followed by Tim Schumpe of Vallonia, Marty Cooper of Franklin and Mike Fields of Scottsburg.

Zachary Stalker of Heltonville took his first career victory in the Pure Stock class. Jim Ruddick of Seymour was second. He was followed by Paul Owens of Bedford, David Palmer of New Albany and Josh Hayes of Seymour.

Wesley Napier of New Washington took the Hornet feature race at Brownstown. Mayer Jr. was second, followed by Mayhan, Zach Burton of Edinburgh and Brian Moore of Clarksville.

After hosting 120 cars a week ago Brownstown, will be back in action tonight with the return of the Super Late Models, Indiana Pro Late Models, Super Stocks, MMSA Mini Sprints and the Don Russ Memorial for Pure Stocks. For more info, go to brownstownspeedway.com.

Twin Cities results

Mike Bechelli of Elizabethtown outran his son Mark to win the Crate Late Model feature on June 18 at Twin Cities Raceway Park. Brad Erwin of Crothersville was third, with Britan Godsey of Mitchell and Brian Shewmaker of Columbus completing the top five.

Todd Cain of Columbus made it three for three this year in winning the Hornet feature event. The father-and-son team of North Vernon’s Tony Napier and Tony Napier Jr. finished second and third, respectively. Austin Perry came home fourth, followed by Bryson Clark of North Vernon.

Jared Burton of North Vernon won his first career Super Stock main event. Jeremy Helton of Paris Crossing was second, followed by Ross Smith of Columbus. Jeff Patterson of North Vernon and Jeremy Miller completed the top five.

Dakota Jackson of Elizabethtown was the top driver in the 305 Sprints as he was victorious in the feature race.

Tonight, Twin Cities will hold Kids Night. Racing will be 410 Non-Wing Sprints, Modifieds, Pure Stocks and Hornets. For more info, go to twincitiesracewaypark.net

Lawrenceburg results

C.J. Leary raced to the 410 Non-Wing Sprint Car feature on June 18 at Lawrenceburg Speedway. Leary took the lead late from Shawn Westerfeld and went on for the victory. Garrett Abrams crossed the finish line in third, followed by Josh Hodges and Jordan Kinser.

Scotty Kincaid finally broke through for his first win in the Modified feature race. David Spille was second, followed by Matt Hamilton, Kyle Schornick and Tyler Jones.

Gage Clark came home the victor in the Hornet main event. Ryan Eversole was second, while Adam Love, Bradley Everhart and Tim Baird completed the top five.

The Pure Stock Division at Lawrenceburg saw Don Grace victorious. Chris Combs Jr. was second, trailed by Danny Eichler, Scott Williams and Steve Upchurch.

Lawrenceburg Speedway will be idle tonight due to the Dearborn County Fair taking place.

O’Neal wins at Terre Haute

Hudson O’Neal followed up his second-place finish at Brownstown by taking the Indiana Pro Late Model feature June 19 at the Terre Haute Action Track in Terre Haute. His uncle, Marty O’Neal, was second, followed by Raymond Humphrey, Steve Barnett and Remington Gill.

This week in racing history

On this weekend in 1968, Paul Crockett won the Late Model feature at 25th Street Speedway in Columbus. Gene Petro of Columbus was second, followed by Ray Godsey.

Crockett won on this same weekend in 1972 at 25th Street Speedway. Ray Godsey was second, followed by Russ Smiley, Russ Petro of Columbus and Darrell Arthur.

From this weekend in 1986, Scott McKeand of North Vernon won the Late Model feature race. Lee Fleetwood was second, followed by Bob Gullion, Doug Ault and Jim Beeman of North Vernon.

Dennis Barber of North Vernon captured the Street Stock main event at Twin Cities. He was followed by Buddy Franks of North Vernon, Don Walp, Jeff Wilson and Larry Gingery of Columbus.

Thirty years ago this weekend at Brownstown, it was John Gill taking home the Late Model feature. Noel Witcher was second, followed by Ray Godsey, Kevin Claycomb and Gerald Dixon.

Mike Jewell took the Modified Street Stock main event at Brownstown over Earl Plessinger, Billy Filburn, Steve Trabue and Troy Burton of Columbus.

In 1976 at Lawrenceburg Speedway, Cliff Cockrum won the Bicentennial Special for Sprints after Columbus’ Butch Wilkerson ran out of gas. Mike Johnson was second, followed by Calvin Gilstrap.