Local racer shines in Southern Nationals

Devin Gilpin of Columbus returned home the winner of the 2016 Schaeffer Oil Southern Nationals for dirt late models, which was conducted the past two weeks.

The series originally was scheduled for 12 events, but three of those races were rained out. Events were conducted in five states — Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia.

Gilpin, who drives a MasterSbilt Racecar for Jim Beeman Motorsports out of North Vernon, was the top point man for the series, earning the championship which paid more than $5,000 to win.

Gilpin’s crew consists of Jim Beeman, Tader Masters, Curt Jarrell, Rick Cherry, Rick Epperson, Chanler Fleetwood and Chris Boggs.

Brownstown’s pits full for fair race

The Brownstown Speedway hosted six classes of racecars for the conclusion of the 2016 Jackson County 4-H Fair on July 30. There were 165 cars entered for the night’s activities.

Cody Mahoney of Madison, for the second consecutive year, was the winner of the Paul Crockett Memorial Race for Super Late Models. Mahoney dominated the event, leading all 25 laps for the $2,500 victory in the Bryan Bowman Motorsports from Seymour-based team.

Chad Stapleton of Edinburgh came home second, followed by Tanner English of Benton, Kentucky; Joe Godsey of Bedford; and Alan Magner of North Vernon.

In the Indiana Pro Late Model feature, Hudson O’Neal cruised to the feature win. Justin Shaw of Greenwood was second, followed by Matt Bex of Avoca, Steve Barnett of Franklin and Chad Stapleton.

The Modified feature came down to the last lap at the finish line. Jacoby Hines narrowly won, crossing the finish line just ahead of Jeremy Owens of North Vernon and Stephen Schnapf of Newburgh. Earl Plessinger of Lexington was fourth, followed by Rick Gumm of Tampico.

Josh Divine of Loogootee won his first career feature in the Super Stock class. Jamey Wilson of Seymour was second, with Tim Schumpe of Vallonia third. David Brewer of Seymour was fourth, and Jack Frye of Bloomington completed the top five.

Tim Rivers from Salem made it five in a row in the Pure Stock division at Brownstown. Rivers took the lead late in the race after starting in 11th place. Kevin Applegate was second, with Jim Ruddick of Seymour, Zachary Stalker of Heltonville and Derek Clegg of Nabb completing the top five cars.

Wesley Napier of New Washington extended his points lead in the Hornet division by winning the feature race. Donnie Modesty of Seymour was second, and John Mayer Jr. of Edinburgh finished third. Completing the top five were Tony Napier of North Vernon and Jaden Mayhan of Elizabethtown.

Tonight, Brownstown will host the Ultimate Battle of the Bluegrass Late Model Series paying $3,000 to win. Also racing will be the Indiana Pro Late Models, Super Stocks, Pure Stocks and Hornets. For more info, visit brownstownspeedway.com.

Lawrenceburg hosts Soudrette Memorial

Josh Hodges came home the winner of the Jason Soudrette Memorial on July 30 at the Lawrenceburg Speedway. Hodges, a New Mexico resident, fought off the challenges of Joss Moffatt of Columbus for the win. Moffatt finished in second, followed by Logan Jarrett, Shawn Westerfeld and Cooper Clause. The event was sanctioned by the Buckeye Outlaw Sprint Series (BOSS).

Kyle Schornick took top honors in the Modified division feature event. Mike Learman finished second, followed by Scotty Kincaid, David Spille and Jeff Koz.

Dalton Smith won the Hornet feature over Gage Clark, Kendall Eberhardt, Josh Atkins and Adam Love. Don Grace was victorious in the Pure Stock main event over Corebin McRoberts, Will McRoberts, Scott Williams and Dalton Baird.

Lawrenceburg will be back in action tonight with 410 Non-Wing Sprints, Modifieds, Pure Stocks and Hornets. For more info, visit lawrenceburgspeedway.com.

Paragon Results

Ethan Barrow of Bloomington won the Sprint Car feature on July 30 at Paragon Speedway. He was followed to the finish line by Bub Cummings, Braxton Cummings, Matt Cooley and Brandon Morin.

Other winners at Paragon were Steve Hawkins of Bloomington (Super Stock), Mark Smith of Morgantown (Bombers), Mike Swango Jr. from Martinsville (Pure Stock) and Gregg O’Neill of Mooresville (Hornets). Felisha Lucas of Edinburgh was runner-up in the Hornet main event.

Bloomington race results

Max McGhee of Camby won the Sprint Car feature July 29 at Bloomington Speedway. Tyler Thomas finished second, followed by Kevin Thomas Jr., Josh Hodges and defending track champion Brady Short.

Ethan Barrow captured the RaceSaver Sprint Car main event at Bloomington over Kerry Kinser, Kendall Ruble, Andy Bradley and Luke Bland.

Aubrey Eagan of Bedford broke through for her first career feature win by taking the Super Stock feature race. Steve Hawkins came home in second, followed by Jamey Wilson, Greg Garrison and Steve Hollars.

This week in racing history

On this weekend in 1965, Gene Petro of Columbus won the Late Model feature at Brownstown Speedway. Gene Sutton finished second, followed by Galen Fox and Hiram Brock. Sutton won the Figure-8 event.

In 1972 at Riverview Speedway in Milton, Kentucky, Johnny Robbins won the 6-cylinder feature. Ken “Hillbilly” Ogle of Columbus was second, followed by Phil Fultz of Clifford.

Johnny Krebbs won the Sprint Car feature at Bloomington Speedway in 1976. Tony Solomito was second, with Bobby Black of Taylorsville, Bob Kinser and Steve Kinser completing the top five drivers.

Ira Bastin won the Late Model feature at Bloomington. Paul Crockett finished second, followed by Russ Petro of Columbus. Bob Fleetwood and John Warner of Columbus completed the top five.

Also 40 years ago this weekend at Brownstown, it was Jim Curry winning the Late Model feature. Dennis Bingham was second, followed by Dennis Boknecht, Ron Wright and Junior Pace.

Teenager Dusty Chapman won the Hobby Stock main event at Brownstown. He was followed to the checkers by John Mull, Roger Hehman, Denny Ashley and Jack Harper.

From 1986, John Gill won the Late Model feature at Brownstown. Jim Curry was second, followed by Kevin Claycomb, Steve Barnett and Paul Shafer. Mike Jewell won the Modified Street Stock feature over Steve Trabue, Earl Plessinger, Roy Anderson and John Mull.

Columbus’ Randy Petro won the Street Stock feature at Brownstown. Larry Gingery of Columbus was second, with Joe Johnson of North Vernon placing third.