University News – February 17

University news

Scholarship available for local students

The William Keller Scholarship is available for students who are current or past residents of Bartholomew County. The student must be attending 12th grade in a Bartholomew County high school and must be pursuing an education in the medical, nursing, scientific, engineering or technical fields. Interested applicants should contact Jessica Alcaraz for an application at [email protected] or 312-732-1949.

Local student honored by Ivy Tech

Ty Moorman, a student at Ivy Tech Community College — Columbus, will receive the Award of Excellence from the Indiana Department of Education. The award is being presented to 11 Ivy Tech students from around the state on Tuesday at the Indiana Government Center Auditorium.

The program, through the Indiana Career and Technical Education Awards for Excellence program, identifies and celebrates career and technical education students, guidance/career services displaying excellence in Indiana and outstanding contributors to careers in technical education.

Meek named to student society

ASHLAND, OHIO — Katlin Meek of Columbus, is a member of Ashland University’s Alexander Hamilton Society.

Meek is majoring in business administration and is a 2017 graduate of Columbus North High School.

The Alexander Hamilton Society or (AHS) seeks to gather students and prominent members of foreign policy, national security, and international affairs community to foster debate and discussion and create a network of students and professionals to use to their advantages.

Students named to Dean’s list

University of Nebraska — Lincoln

Columbus: Mark Nusterer

Manchester University

Columbus: Kenzie Rooks