Early in-person voting for primary starts today

Early voting for the May 7 primary starts today, with a host of competitive races for party nominations for federal, state and local offices up for grabs.

Early in-person voting will be held 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Tuesday at Donner Center, 739 22nd St., and continue weekdays following the same schedule through May 3, according to the Bartholomew County Clerk’s Office.

Early in-person voting also will be held the two Saturdays before Election Day — April 27 and May 4 — from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. at Donner Center and the Bartholomew County Government Office Building, and 8 a.m. to noon at Donner Center on May 6, the day before the election.

Because it is a primary, voters must choose either the Republican ballot or the Democratic ballot. It is not possible to vote for candidates in both parties. The winners in the primary will secure their party’s nomination to run for office in the general election this fall.

There are several contested primaries this year on the Republican ballot.

Seven Republicans — Jamison Carrier, Darin Childress, Bill Frazier, John Jacob, Jeff Raatz, Jefferson Shreve and Mike Speedy — are seeking the GOP nomination for Indiana’s 6th Congressional District after three-term incumbent Rep. Greg Pence, R-Ind., opted against seeking reelection.

Rep. Erin Houchin, R-Ind., is facing a primary challenge from Hugh Doty.

Six Republicans are seeking their party’s nomination for Indiana governor, including current Lt. Gov. Suzanne Crouch, Sen. Mike Braun, as well as Brad Chambers, Eric Doden, Curtis Hill and Jamie Reitenour.

Rep. Jim Lucas, R-Seymour, is facing his first test at the ballot box since pleading guilty last year to charges that he crashed his vehicle through an interstate guardrail while under the influence of alcohol and then fled the scene. He later completed probation.

Lucas is being challenged by Brownstown teacher and former West Virginia lawmaker Brian Savilla for the Republican nomination for Indiana House District 69.

Rep. Jennifer Meltzer, R-Shelbyville, is facing a challenge from Edward K. Comstock II for the GOP nomination for Indiana House District 73.

At the local level, Bartholomew County Commissioner Larry Kleinhenz is seeking an eighth term in office. He is being challenged by Rick Miller for the GOP nomination for Bartholomew County Commissioner District 1.

Four Republicans — Michael R. Bell, Kim Bennett, John Prohaska and Marcus Daniel Speer — are seeking their party’s nomination for three Bartholomew County Council at-large seats.

There also are some competitive races on the Democratic ballot.

Marc Carmichael and Valerie McCray are seeking the Democratic nomination for U.S. Senate. D. Liam Dorris and Tim Peck are seeking their party’s nomination for Indiana’s 9th Congressional District.

Jennifer G. McCormick also is seeking the Democratic nomination for Indiana governor.