Jennings wrestlers shine in tourney

Staff Reports

The Jennings County middle school wrestling team won the Bear Rumble Tournament as seven wrestlers won championships.

Rusty Vaughn, Nick South, Trenton Stuckwisch, Lynn Bateman, Hunter Dickmeyer, Brooks Wathen and Nathaniel McDonald all won titles.

Placing second for Jennings County were Keagan Craig, Joey Moran and Damon Burton.

Third-place finishers were Dathan Malone, Teagen Johnson, Blake Skinner, Jonah Walters, Sammy Bennett and Brandon McGuire, while Owen Barr and Rodger Watts were fourth.

Northside, which finished fourth, had two champions in Jake Schonoegge and Cayden Rooks.

Placing second for Northside were Morgan Smith and Corey Harden, while Joey Gordon, Victor Hernandez and Jarod Baker were third.

In a dual meet, Jennings County downed Northside 93-31.

Winning for Jennings County were Johnson, Craig, Takota Grigsby, Rusty Vaughn, Skinner, South, Stuckwisch, Bateman, Dickmeyer, Wathen, Watts, Burton, Walters, Bennett, McGuire and McDonald.

Reserve winners for Jennings County were Lance Maschino, Tyler Ellis, Jason Gasper and Tennessee Henry.

Winning matches for Northside were Braeden Berger, Gordon, Schonoegge, Rooks, Hernandez and Hugo Buenrostro.


Relay team sets record

The Jennings County Middle School 400 free relay team of Trey Hundley, Jesse Wallace, Beau Harriman and Peyton Moore set a school record in 4:30.71 during a tri meet against Seymour and South Ripley.

Moore set a school record in the 100 free in 53.75, while Hailey Brown set a new record in 1-meter diving with 184.40 points.


Flames break even

The Columbus Flames Squirts finished 2-2 in the Big Thaw hockey tournament in Ann Arbor, Michigan.

The Flames downed the Renegades 3-1 in the opener as Brayson Bennett scored a pair of goals while Eli Fox tallied once. Caden Graham, John Ferguson, Alex Clark and Konner Powell picked up the assists.

In the second game, the Midwest Blackbirds downed the Flames 5-0. The Flames won the third game 1-0 over the Northstars. Bennett scored the only goal on an assist from Ty Boone, while Jack McMullen registered the shutout in goal. The Blackbirds downed the Flames 3-1 in the final game as Clark scored the only Flames’ goal on an assist from Bennett.


Pins fall in league play

Randy Rudzinsko lit up the scoreboard with a 290 in Tuesday Men’s $5,000 to Win League action at the Columbus Bowling Center.

Branden Bennett-Newland rolled a 289, while Andy Tibbs had 279.

Randy Rudzinsko had the high series with a 786, followed by Bennett-Newland at 777 and Dustin Craig at 738.

EnviroTest rolled the high team game with a 1,341 and the high team series with a 3,739. EnviroTest also leads the standings at 146-70, followed by Poynter GM at 138-78 and Team No. 17 at 132-84.

In Thursday Night Ladies League action, Ruth Bohall rolled the high series of 592, followed by Traci Petro at 577, Michelle Burton at 549, Roberta Phillips at 541 and Judy Anderson at 533.

Anderson rolled the high game of 254, followed by Bonnie Rogers at 212, Donna Debusk and Petro at 204 and Bohall at 203.

Toad ’em So had the high game of 1,053 and the high series of 2,866. CBC leads the team standings at 169-30, followed by Burton’s Hydraulic at 156-52 and Toad ‘em So at 134-74.

In Senior Men’s League play, John Zieleniuk had the high game of 258, followed by Jim Stark at 248, Jim Fields at 245, Steve Phillips at 235 and Vern Phillips at 231.

Zieleniuk rolled the high scratch series of 701, followed by Vern Phillips at 650, Steve Phillips at 636, Donn Voyles at 618 and Rick Riggle at 617.

The Bears shot the high team handicap series at 3,035, while the Pumas lead the standings at 110-82 followed by the Tigers at 108-84 and the Cougars at 100-92.

In Thursday Ladies Matinee action, Carol Baldwin had the high series of 537, followed by Lu Kinman at 536 and Phyllis Alexander at 514. Baldwin also had the high game of 200, while Leda Dean rolled 196 and Phyllis Alexander finished with 192.


Title game teams set

The Rock Pile eliminated Flying Zambonis 7-1 in the Broomball semifinals as Brent Gordon and Tyler Douthitt each scored two goals while Tyler Houchin, Todd Houchin and Ryne Brutus each tallied once. Byran Plunkett had Flying Zambonis only goal.

It will be rocking championship game as Monsters of Rock defeated Yoopers 3-1 to earn a shot at The Rock Pile. Tom Kubat, Ben Eckhart and Greg Thomas all scored goals for Monsters of Rock, while Josh DeSmet had Yoopers’ only goal.

The title game is at 5:15 p.m. today at Hamilton Center. Flying Zambonis play the Yoopers in the consolation final at 4:15 p.m.