Setting good examples

Columbus North’s Daniela Chaparro and Hauser’s Pete Trotter were this year’s local recipients of the Lilly Endowment Scholarship, which provides tuition for four years to any Indiana college, plus a $900 stipend for required books and equipment.

Chaparro, who grew up in Mexico and didn’t move to Columbus until she was 14, wants to study art education at Ball State, Indiana University or Notre Dame. Trotter plans to study chemistry or biology at Purdue or Wabash, and hopes to return to Hope as a doctor. He is believed to be the first winner from Hope in at least 15 years.

They were chosen from a pool of 101 applicants. Their scholarships show that hard work pays off, and their efforts set good examples for other students and provides inspiration.

Helping hands

While the Dec. 5 fire inside Judson Erne Auditorium at Columbus North High School was quickly extinguished by the fast actions of administrative staff and the school resource officer, examples of other quick action by the Columbus East High School theater department and community groups prevented a more widespread impact.

East auditorium director Kevin Welsh this past Sunday was able to accommodate the Columbus Indiana Philharmonic for its pair of holiday shows featuring the Wright Brothers, as well as the Dancers Studio performances of “The Nutcracker,” to be presented at 1 and 7 p.m. today.

That assistance is welcome because such entertainment factors into residents’ quality of life. East’s willingness to help benefits the entire community and sets a positive example for others to follow.

Kudos to Stewart

A tip of the hat to NASCAR racing legend Tony Stewart for carving time in his busy schedule to appear in the Dec. 3 Festival of Lights parade through downtown Columbus, less than 24 hours after wrapping up his NASCAR driving career at the racing circuit’s annual banquet.

His presence made the parade extra special for thousands of people who braved cold temperatures, filling sidewalks along the parade route.

Read more on the three-team racing champion in a special keepsake section in today’s Republic.